Thought For The Day 03/18/13

Standard

Blog Unto Others

___

blog Unto Others

___

If you do not breathe through writing, if you do not cry out in writing, or sing in writing, then don’t write, because our culture has no use for it.

Anais Nin

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/writing.html#E97QYh1CUdgqRWJM.99

___

I saw this cartoon the other day and while I know that there are some who might cry out, “Blasphemy! How dare they take Luke 6:31 (NIV – “Do to others as you would have them do to you.”) and turn the word of God into a joke”, there is a pretty significant lesson there. Besides the fact that it is laughter that nourishes our soul (yes, there have actually been the studies made which show people who laugh are not just happier but healthier, as well), I see these words in the cartoon above as sage advice about how important what I do every day really is!

___

Blogging is more closely tied to writing a novel of fiction than it is reporting for the NY Times! You see, while I work to make sure what I share is factual and relevant and worthy of spending all of eternity traveling through that mystery of mysteries…the internet…, what I write is my perspective of things rather than always concrete and verifiable information. Which means that there may be times, when I am trying to make a point, I may take a liberty or two in an attempt to convey something about faith, which by its very definition, is somewhat intangible. And this is something which your reporter of news can not do. And yet, we are both kissing cousins, at the very least, except that I speak mostly of the past, and strive to tie it to the present day, and a reporter speaks in the present, and strives to tie it to the future. But what each of us does is important and has the potential to have a huge impact on man!

___

Are faith-based blogs a good thing? My answer is that not only are they good, but they are an essential in this ever evolving time we live in. Never before in history have we been as connected with the world as we are today. I can…and do…have private conversations every day with people half a world away through wonders such as the telephone, Facetime and Skype and instant messaging! And others reach out to me for help in exactly the same way. Where once, if we were in need of guidance, we would need to make an appointment with someone, travel to their office and sit face to face, today we connect via the internet. My office is wherever I am and wherever I go. I can nurture, guide, build bridges of love and share my love of God wherever and whenever I choose to. My congregation is made up of the thousands of people who have ever read my posts and especially those devotees who come back every day, as well as the people who seek me out every day on my social media site.

___

Evangelism is the duty of all Christians. “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit“, Matthew 28:19, NIV. Words from God’s mouth to the ears of an Apostle, written two thousand years ago, and which are still read today. And if there is any greater proof for the significance of writing down and sharing God’s message than that, then please Let me know. By the way, while you are at it, I have some great swamp land……..

___

“For with the heart one believes and is justified, and with the mouth one confesses and is saved. For the Scripture says, “Everyone who believes in him will not be put to shame.” For there is no distinction between Jew and Greek; for the same Lord is Lord of all, bestowing his riches on all who call on him. For “everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.” How then will they call on him in whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in him of whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone preaching? …”

Romans 10:10-17 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

