Thought For The Day 03/20/13

Standard

C-H-O-I-C-E

CHOOSING the HIGHEST OPTIONS IS CENTRAL to our EXISTENCE!

___

http://goodlifezen.com/2009/02/23/9-ways-to-make-the-right-decision/

___

I can’t let him go. I can’t. There must be some way to bring him back. Oh, I can’t think about this now! I’ll go crazy if I do! I’ll think about it tomorrow. But I must think about it. I must think about it. What is there to do? What is there that matters? Tara! Home. I’ll go home. And I’ll think of some way to get him back. After all… tomorrow is another day!

The last line of dialog spoken by the character, Scarlet O’Hara, in the movie

“GONE WITH THE WIND”

http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Gone_with_the_Wind_(film)

___

I wrote a post way back in September that talked about why it is that we must be exceedingly careful in this day and age about the choices we make as we travel along life’s path. And believe it or not, that singular post received the most views in a single day of any I’ve ever written…..nearly 150! And since that day I’ve wondered exactly why people we so drawn to that post. Is it because we spend so much time these days second guessing our every move for fear that someone will come along and take umbrage at what it is we have said or done? Or is it, instead, some inner voice speaking to us and telling us that the time is now to begin looking more carefully at the inner workings of our heart and what it is we want to accomplish with our lives or be remembered for? I do not know the answer except to warn that since we can not know what tomorrow will bring, perhaps channeling the Scarlet O’Hara comment quoted above, may not prove the wisest of courses to take! What if there is no tomorrow for your life?

___

In my blog way back last September, I likened the acronym CHOOSING the HIGHEST OPTIONS IS CENTRAL to our EXISTENCE to the word C-H-O-I-C-E. You see it’s not just the quantity of the things we want to accomplish with our lives, but more importantly, it is the quality of the things we do. In all honesty, it is not simply the events that will be remembered by our children and our grandchildren 50 years from now. It is how we chose to live and that our actions were honest, and worthy and good and touched the hearts of others, making their lives all the better because of our involvement!

___

Romans 2:6-8 ESV says it all! “He will render to each one according to his works: to those who by patience in well-doing seek for glory and honor and immortality, he will give eternal life; but for those who are self-seeking and do not obey the truth, but obey unrighteousness, there will be wrath and fury.” So, wanting to avoid God’s ire, what choices can we make that will be pleasing to Him? (After all, we are, by our very nature, egocentric, choosing goals for our own purposes and not for His. ) Well, how about surrendering your life to Him? After all, when we forego those hedonistic and selfish urges, and work with the purpose of doing what we know to be right in His eyes, we will become transformed within, and without, as well. And like the tipping of dominoes, the choices we make in our dealings with others in our world will become transformed, as well.

___

Choosing to focus your behaviors on those things where you glorify God will add another layer to the one part of us that shines forth without your even forcing it. What is this layer, you ask? It is our character, which is the deepest and most profound part of our soul! But the amazing thing is that your transformation will not simply be what is seen by others, but it will create a powerful change within your own mind. You will be just a bit more compassionate and kind, and you will find that you like yourself a bit more. It is these things that will serve to honor us all the days that we live, and it will be the example by which we set the feet of our children on life’s path.

___

CHOOSING the HIGHEST OPTIONS IS CENTRAL to our EXISTENCE. It is, indeed, a powerful gift we have been given!

___

“Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect”

Romans 12:2 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

