Thought For The Day 03/22/13

Standard

A Conversation With God

___

conversation with God

http://digitalcatharsis.wordpress.com/2012/02/19/god-can-i-ask-you-a-question/

___

Certain thoughts are prayers.  There are moments when, whatever be the attitude of the body, the soul is on its knees.  

Victor Hugo

http://www.quotegarden.com/god.html

___

How much time do you spend in honest conversation with God? That is exactly what prayer is, after all! And while you might not hear God’s answers in your ears, if you listen with your heart, instead, I can assure you that an answer is near! Now your conversation need not be long or complex. In fact, the best conversations with God are not ever spoken aloud to begin with. They are, instead, thoughts and feelings and wishes that are given birth in the mind, but somehow settle in the heart and follow you as you live your lives, waiting for the moment you surrender it up to Him. Which is less necessary than we might think, since God knows everything we hold in our hearts, whether or not the words ever escape our lips! Matthew 6:5-6 ESV teaches us about the error of some who offer their prayers aloud! “And when you pray, you must not be like the hypocrites. For they love to stand and pray in the synagogues and at the street corners, that they may be seen by others. Truly, I say to you, they have received their reward. But when you pray, go into your room and shut the door and pray to your Father who is in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you.”

___

Now it never hurts to actually say a thing or two aloud as we are reminded in Romans 10:9 NIV, “If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” Sometimes saying things aloud gives them reality and substance. It also allows us to amend what we want to share, editing out the parts that are not as important, so that the things we really want to share with Him come shining through! After all, many of the things we want to ask are selfish and unimportant to our lives, and we only want Him to hear the things that are the most important to us, don’t we? I know that it works this way for me when I write! A concept forms in my head but it is not really born until I sit at the keyboard. I think, type, edit and type some more. Then I send it to be published, but even then, I will sometimes edit it at 2AM from my phone. Before most of you ever read it, it has been reworked over and over so that what I give makes the most sense and will have the biggest impact on you. Yes, not every one is perfect just as I am not perfect, but what you get is the very best I can manage, just as your prayers to God should be the very best you can manage!

___

Finally, there is one more caveat to our “heart-to-heart” talks with God. Somehow, they just seem to work best when they are for another, rather than ourselves, which somehow seems to be an automatic edit to those selfish, impulse conversations we are tempted to have with Him! 1 Timothy 2:1-2 NIV reminds us of that! “I urge, then, first of all, that petitions, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for all people; for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness.”

___

I read a story on Godvine yesterday, that is a perfect piece about talking to God, especially if we doubt that He has heard our words. He has. It’s just that His answer is not always what we might expect it to be, especially when our motives are not what He expects them to be when we chat!

___

A Conversation with God

Author Unknown

 ~

Me: God, can I ask You a question?

God: Sure

Me: Promise You won’t get mad

God: I promise

Me: Why did You let so much stuff happen to me today?

God: What do u mean?

Me: Well, I woke up late

God: Yes

Me: My car took forever to start

God: Okay

Me: at lunch they made my sandwich wrong & I had to wait

God: Hmmmmmm

Me: On the way home, my phone went DEAD, just as I picked up a call

God: All right

Me: And on top of it all off, when I got home ~I just want to soak my feet in my new foot massager & relax. BUT it wouldn’t work!!! Nothing went right today! Why did You do that?

God: Let me see, the death angel was at your bed this morning & I had to send one
of My Angels to battle him for your life. I let you sleep through that

Me (humbled): OH

GOD: I didn’t let your car start because there was a drunk driver on your route that would have hit you if you were on the road.

Me: (ashamed)

God: The first person who made your sandwich today was sick & I didn’t want you to catch what they have, I knew you couldn’t afford to miss work.

Me (embarrassed):Okay

God: Your phone went dead because the person that was calling was going to give false witness about what you said on that call, I didn’t even let you talk to them so you would be covered.

Me (softly): I see God

God: Oh and that foot massager, it had a shortage that was going to throw out all of the power in your house tonight. I didn’t think you wanted to be in the dark.

Me: I’m Sorry God

God: Don’t be sorry, just learn to Trust Me…. in All things , the Good & the bad.

Me: I will trust You.

God: And don’t doubt that My plan for your day is Always Better than your plan.

Me: I won’t God. And let me just tell you God, Thank You for Everything today.

God: You’re welcome child. It was just another day being your God and I Love looking after My Children…

___

“So what shall I do? I will pray with my spirit, but I will also pray with my understanding; I will sing with my spirit, but I will also sing with my understanding.”

1 Corinthians 14:15 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

One response »

Leave a Reply

