Thought For The Day 03/25/13

Standard

I Don’t Know How To Love Him…

___

Jesus Christ Superstar Broadway 2012

Photo from the 2012 Broadway revival of “Jesus Christ Superstar”

http://www.broadway.com/shows/jesus-christ-superstar/photos/

___

Christ came for the people who knew they are the worst of sinners.
The  relationship of Jesus and Mary Magdalene illustrates the souls who appreciate a  Savior.

Brad Johnson

http://www.graspinggod.com/jesus-and-mary-magdalene.html#ixzz2OUnz8jjD

___

I have said it before….and I’ll say it again! I am a child of the 60’s and 70’s and as such, Rock Operas such as “Hair” and “Tommy” strike a chord within my heart! I love the passion and joy and vibrancy these talented singer/songwriters introduced to the mainstream population throughout the world. But, there is one Rock Opera that touched me in a way none other could!  Of all of these musical productions, my very favorite of them all, is “Jesus Christ Superstar”. Although the original show on Broadway only ran for 711 performances, opening October 12, 1971, and the curtain falling for the final time June 30, 1973, I was one of the lucky ones who managed to see the production, because it was only a brief ferry and subway ride from my college campus.

___

A modern-day (70’s) Passion Play, the concept focused on the psychological interactions between the characters….most notably Jesus and Judas Iscariot. The production was widely condemned by religious groups who were critical of not just the concept but the way Judas was portrayed. There were some who considered that the dialog as written, was blasphemous. Still, the production toured all over the world, was made into a feature film not once but twice (that I know of) and sparked an attempt at a revival on Broadway in 2012. And although the 2012 show was unsuccessful, running only from  March 1, 2012 until July 1, 2012, a mere 116 performances, throughout its history,  “Jesus Christ Superstar” is still credited with drawing many young people who had fled organized religious denominations, back to faith and back to God. And for my money, anything that does that is a wonderful thing!

___

One of the most popular songs was the one sung by Yvonne Elliman, who played Mary Magdalene. It is a love song, but does not talk of physical love, despite the fact that some people of the day believed this Mary was a prostitute (and there are some today who hint that the relationship between Christ and Mary was more than platonic)! Instead, this beautiful and moving piece is a tribute to the spiritual love shared by Mary and Christ. It is a love that transcends any physical one that has ever existed, and it is a love of the most sacred kind!

___

“I Don’t Know How To Love Him”

from “Jesus Christ Superstar”

~

Music & Lyrics by:

Andrew Lloyd-Weber & Tim Rice

Performed by:

Yvonne Elliman as Mary Magdalene

(“I Don’t Know How to Love Him”  was originally featured on the #1 album “Jesus Christ Superstar” which was released in October of 1970. Yvonne Elliman was the original recording artist.)

~

Close your eyes, Close your eyes, and forget all about us tonight

I don’t know how to love him
What to do, how to move him
I’ve been changed, yes really changed
In these past few days
When I’ve seen myself
I seem like someone else

I don’t know how to take this
I don’t see why he moves me
He’s a man
He’s just a man
And I’ve had so many
Men before
In very many ways
He’s just one more

Should I bring him down
Should I scream and shout
Should I speak of love
Let my feelings out?
I never thought I’d come to this
What’s it all about?

Don’t you think it’s rather funny
I should be in this position?
I’m the one
Who’s always been
So calm so cool
No lover’s fool
Running every show
He scares me so

I never thought I’d come to this
What’s it all about?

Yet If he said he loved me
I’d be lost I’d be frightened
I couldn’t cope
Just couldn’t cope
I’d turn my head
I’d back away
I wouldn’t want to know
He scares me so


I want him so


I love him so

___

To view this performance from the 1973 movie, “Jesus Christ Superstar” click the link below

http://youtu.be/G9S072UBKYs

___

The entire production of “Jesus Christ Superstar” has endured the test of time, and, I suspect, the criticisms that once hoped to undermine its popularity have softened over the years, as young people who were among the biggest supporters of the work have now become the backbone of mainstream religious groups! Funny how 40 years does that to people!

___

John 20, 11-18 KJV 

11 But Mary stood without at the sepulchre weeping: and as she wept, she stooped down, [and looked] into the sepulchre,

12 And seeth two angels in white sitting, the one at the head, and the other at the feet, where the body of Jesus had lain.

13 And they say unto her, Woman, why weepest thou? She saith unto them, Because they have taken away my Lord, and I know not where they have laid him.

14 And when she had thus said, she turned herself back, and saw Jesus standing, and knew not that it was Jesus.

15 Jesus saith unto her, Woman, why weepest thou? whom seekest thou? She, supposing him to be the gardener, saith unto him, Sir, if thou have borne him hence, tell me where thou hast laid him, and I will take him away.

16 Jesus saith unto her, Mary. She turned herself, and saith unto him, Rabboni; which is to say, Master.

17 Jesus saith unto her, Touch me not; for I am not yet ascended to my Father: but go to my brethren, and say unto them, I ascend unto my Father, and your Father; and [to] my God, and your God.

18 Mary Magdalene came and told the disciples that she had seen the Lord, and [that] he had spoken these things unto her.

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

