Thought For The Day 03/27/13

Standard

Do You “KNOW” God

Or

Is It “NO” God For You?

___

knowing-god

http://www.imanimcc.org/author/rev-phil/

___

“Once you become aware that the main business that you are here for is to know God, most of life’s problems fall into place of their own accord.” 

J.I. Packer

http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/knowing-god

___

I love thinking about language in terms of Synonyms (words with the same or similar meanings), Antonyms (a word opposite in meaning to another word) and Homonyms (words spelled and/or pronounced alike but different in meaning ). As a matter of fact, I often use a Thesaurus when I write, because I will often need another descriptive word to explain something that I am seeking to share! Which is why I reacted so strongly the other day when I saw a sign using the Homonym “KNOW” and “NO”. When thinking about matters of faith, there is a huge difference between these two individual words, and it is more than simply adding two little letters…..”K and W”. But how many of you have ever thought about these two words when thinking about faith? Which one of these two words, do you use when you think about your relationship with God? Do you “KNOW” God, or is it  “NO” God for you?

___

I bet most of you think that you KNOW God’s plans for your life, and what he means to you! However, it seems in this day and age, more people look at their relationship with God using the word NO instead of KNOW! NO, I won’t honor my promises to others! NO, I won’t love my neighbor as I love  myself. NO, I won’t do unto others as I would have them do unto me! NO, I won’t stop taking the name of the Lord in vain. NO, NO, NO,NO,NO! In other words, YES, I love my sin and my sinful ways more than I love God! Well guess what everybody? We can’t just rest on our laurels when it comes to matters of faith! Our road to Salvation is promised and was already paid for but is not absolute without a little sweat equity on our part!

___

Knowing God is always an interactive journey between us and Him. It requires that we filter out all of the promises we are bombarded with every day. From Social Media to TV advertisements to Billboards, we are told if we do this, act this way or buy this, we will reap rewards…..perhaps even realize our wildest dreams! But you and I both know that these things are no more real than any other “get rich quick” scheme that falls into our laps! Empty promises do not make us happy, nor do they build relationships or put a roof over our head or food into our mouth, come to think of it. But if we trust and seek to bring Him into our hearts and into our lives, He will meet with us and open our hearts and minds to a new way of thinking and living. Yes, the offer of Salvation is free, but never forget that it is our sin that keeps us apart from Him and unless we work to live better lives and keep His commandments, that which was free for our taking will become but a puff of smoke! Yes, “…all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,” Romans 3:23 , NKJV, but to understand God’s essence and character, we must seek to become closer by contemplation of that which is greater than the act of any man. We must pray and it must be heartfelt and meaningful. And we must read His words and testimony that is contained in the scriptures. It’s not difficult. It just take our accepting and surrendering our lives over to Him! But don’t forget, we must add a little sweat equity to the mix by becoming active participants as we seek to join our hearts and minds with His!

___

“You have done all these great things, to make Your servant know them. Therefore You are great, O Lord God. For there is none like You, nor is there any God besides You….” 

2 Samuel 7:21-22

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

