Thought For The Day 04/07/13

Standard

No Doubt About It!

___

Doubt

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_AB0jscEVGh4/TPOr7vpjahI/AAAAAAAAAWM/NlqSUSs4Afk/s1600/Doubt.jpg

___

“The beginning of wisdom is found in doubting; by doubting we come to the  question, and by seeking we may come upon the truth.”

Pierre Abelard 

http://www.wow4u.com/doubt/index.html#meA1vcMUc7W0WKVG.99

___

Are you a doubting Thomas or Thomasina? Are you someone who must see to believe? I asked myself that very question not so long ago, as a matter of fact. You see, I was raised in the church by parents who were devout Christians. I taught Sunday School and sang in the choir and felt Him within my heart growing up. But then something happened.

___

Perhaps it was the times which saw tremendous changes in the world as the years turned from the days of the free-love anti-war 60’s to the recovery mode that the 70’s heralded. Perhaps it was my inner confusion at my burgeoning relationship with a man who was not of my faith and the difficulty I faced trying to reconcile my beliefs with the strong traditions of the Roman Catholic faith which was so different and seemed so rigid and unforgiving, to my mind. But whatever it was, I fell away from the faith I was born into. The thing is, it was all a part of His purpose for my life, because I would not be where I am today if not for those lost years. The years when I doubted most things….especially me!

___

The same held true for His disciples, following His crucifixion. These were His hand chosen few. These were the ones who would carry forth and sow the seeds of the message of God’s promise of salvation because of the death of Christ, throughout the world. They were first-hand witnesses to miracle after miracle after miracle, performed by Him. And yet the doubts remained. And while they may not have strayed for as many years as I did, the fact of the matter is that they were not yet ready to surrender their hearts completely to their Heavenly Father. They remained very human during the days when the world shouted over and over, “NO”!

___

The people shouted “NO” to his being released when given a choice. Pilate shouted “NO” in judgement. The soldiers shouted “NO” as they marched and tortured the Son to Calvary. And those handpicked disciples said “NO” when Mary came to tell them that He was alive! And when they were gathered together in the room, doors locked in fear, and He appeared to them all (except Thomas), still they said “NO” until they saw His hands and side and heard His words, “Peace be with you!”. And even when they told this to Thomas, his response was also “NO”! Until he saw Jesus, that is and until the moment Jesus spoke. Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here; see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe.” Thomas said to him, “My Lord and my God!” Then Jesus told him, “Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.” John 20: 27-29 NIV.

___

So will you doubt until you see the evidence? Well I fear if that is the case, it will be too late for you, just as it nearly was for me. But I dared to take that “leap of faith” toward something I could not see, smell or taste. It was only what I knew in my heart and mind to be the truth. I believed without seeing and I changed my DOUBT into NO DOUBT ABOUT IT! And if I was able to do that, there is not a single doubt in my mind, that you can too!

___

“Behold ye among the heathen, and regard, and wonder marvelously: for I will work a work in your days which ye will not believe,
though it be told you.”

Habakkuk 1:5 (KJV)

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

