Thought For The Day 04/18/13

Standard

From The Ashes

___

from the ashes

Amanda Bruscella

Taken with iPhone 04/16/13

 ___

The flower that has a story to tell.

~

This Amaryllis was a Christmas gift to my father, one of 3 small plants whose blooms became a part of our holiday decorations. Once Christmas passed and the flowers were gone, I transplanted them to a pot to go outside come spring. As a decoration, I placed some dried moss over the earth and added a few glass pebbles, and once the weather allowed, I placed the pot outside in the warmth. A few weeks later, I went into my garage and smelled the strong and distinctive odor of burning brush. Opening my garage door, I discovered the pot holding the bulbs was engulfed in flames. I had forgotten the properties of glass to concentrate the sun’s rays, and the dried moss was burning fiercely. I put out the fire, said a prayer of thanks that my house had not been damaged, and then I dug through the soil. Two of the bulbs were beyond salvage but one showed promise. I decided to plant it in my flower bed…..not overly hopeful of its chances. A few weeks later, I saw a green shoot poking its head through the soil. The green stem grew leaves and gained height and within a month and a half, I was greeted with some beautiful flowers! And it has bloomed regularly, ever since!   

___

Listen to the tide slowly turning
Wash all our heartaches away
We’re part of the fire that is burning
And from the ashes we can build another day 

Moody Blues: “The Story In Your Eyes” 

from the 1971 album 

“Every Good Boy Deserves Favour”

___

Life is a cruel mistress. No matter how strong we think we are, it seems that Satan’s control over life’s events can become so corrupting that it almost seems as if life’s hand  is forced to challenge us, making us rethink all that we once considered to be absolute. Things we embrace and hold dear, such as our goodness, strength of purpose and even our faith can come into question! And yet, this is the time when we must refuse to allow those doubts to take control of our hearts and our minds. You see, even though the storms of life can rage fiercely, if we look to Him instead of away from Him, we will gain the strength to rise above the storm. All we need do is think about my Amaryllis, or how about the Phoenix!

___

The Phoenix is a mythical bird with fiery plumage, who lives a long and glorious life for 100 years. But as it nears its ending time, the Phoenix is compelled to build a nest, settle into it, and then he waits. Suddenly, the nest and bird erupt in flames, becoming so consumed that nothing remains but ashes. But just as suddenly, from the ashes, a fledgling Phoenix rises…..renewed, reborn and beautiful, once more. That is exactly what our embracing faith in God gives each of us!

___

Life is a gift….fleeting and all too brief, and none of us should allow ourselves to live our days in any manner other that with zeal and joy, knowing that it is what God wants for us all. Yes, He wants our trust and He wants our obedience, and He wants our service, but He especially wants us to be joy filled, happy and to be filled with hope. Need proof? How about looking at Romans 5: 3-5 NIV, ” Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.” After all, we are promised that it will be those who can overcome, who will join Him, sitting on His right hand. Revelation 3:21 NIV, “To the one who is victorious, I will give the right to sit with me on my throne, just as I was victorious and sat down with my Father on his throne.”

___

 

 “It is God who arms me with strength, and makes my way perfect. He makes my feet like the feet of deer, and sets me on high places. He teaches my hands to make war, so that my arms can bend a bow of bronze … I have pursued my enemies and overtaken them; neither did I turn back again till they were destroyed, I have wounded them, so that they were not able to rise; they have fallen under my feet. For You have armed me with strength for the battle; you have subdued under me those who rose up against me.” 

Psalm 18: 32-36

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

