Thought For The Day 04/19/13

Standard

Hoping For A Money Back Guarantee?

___

money back guarantee

http://www.chopardsunglasses.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/moneybacklabel.jpg

___

The real measure of your wealth is how much you’d be worth if you lost all your money.

Author Unknown

http://www.quotegarden.com/money.html

___

Life is messy. It has warts, is covered with dirt and is, quite frankly, a trial in the making! Our relationships are messy. Our politics are messy. Our finances are messy. Our appearances are messy. Our homes are messy. In fact, I can not think of any thing in my life that isn’t messy….save one (the operative word being save)! Of everything I face every day, the one absolute that is not messy is my faith!

___

I know I am not alone in saying that I sometimes wish that the life I live as I walk the earth, would have the exact same thing that so many of the things that I buy have….. a 100% money back guarantee! However, because the life we live is a mortal one and life is full of those warts I referred to, we will most likely never see perfection in any thing we do or have. But do you want to know something? While I do make that wish at times, for the most part, I am completely content with things all messy and “cobwebby”, just as they are! You see, I’m not so sure that I would be completely happy if my life was ideal and perfect. You see, if it was, then I would never have the chance to become all that I am capable of, nor would I learn all that I need to, for my life to be one full of meaning and accomplishment!

___

We realize our maximum potential only by having goals and aspirations that require that we be willing to invest effort commensurate with the reward we expect to receive! And, just as the Bible reminds us in Galatians 6:7(b) ESV, the verse that we tend to think of first, “….for whatever one sows, that will he also reap”, the same philosophy is reinforced again and again throughout the texts of books such as 2 Corinthians, Luke, Philippians, Malachi and Proverbs. Want to read some others for yourself? Just click the following link from “Open Bible”, which will give some of them to you in black and white! (http://www.openbible.info/topics/sowing_and_reaping).

___

The portion of verse 7 that I quoted above which contains those magic words, for whatever one sows, that will he also reap, does not tell the whole story. Yes it is the go to one we think of the most when we want to validate the cause and effect for the hard work we need to do in life, but to understand why I can say with certainty that my faith is the one thing that is clean and untainted and absolute, you really need to look at the other verses that surround this operative phrase. Galatians 6: 1-10 ESV, put things into perspective and tells us the “why’s” those magic words matter! “One who is taught the word must share all good things with the one who teaches. Do not be deceived: God is not mocked, for whatever one sows, that will he also reap. For the one who sows to his own flesh will from the flesh reap corruption, but the one who sows to the Spirit will from the Spirit reap eternal life. And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up. So then, as we have opportunity, let us do good to everyone, and especially to those who are of the household of faith.”

___

So avoid the easy way out and all of those get rich quick schemes that offer something for nothing. You see, if it really seems too good to be true, it ALWAYS is. So go ahead, and wade your way through the mire of your messy life the best you can. It is the prerequisite for all of the things to come! And I can promise you that those things will be perfect and pristine and WONDERFUL!

___

“Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called when you made your good confession in the presence of many witnesses.”

1 Timothy 6:12 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

