Thought For The Day 04/20/13

Standard

Let There Be Peace On Earth

___

peace

Martin Richard

___

Prayer for Peace

Lord, make me an instrument of Thy peace;
where there is hatred, let me sow love;
where there is injury, pardon;
where there is doubt, faith;
where there is despair, hope;
where there is darkness, light;
and where there is sadness, joy.

O Divine Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love;
for it is in giving that we receive,
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life.

Amen.

St. Francis of Assisi
(1181-1226)

___

Look closely at the bright eyes and captivating smile of the face in the picture above. Then look at the picture in his hands and read the words penned by this special child.

No More Hurting People

PEACE

This is the face….a young face….the victim of violence that consumes that part of the human heart where our humanity dwells. An innocent with huge dreams and hopes for a bright and beautiful future, cut short by actions of others whose innocence was lost long ago. Two hearts, whose misplaced embrace of a radical theology rendered them devoid of humanity, and instead, replaced love thy brother with a hatred beyond understanding. And whether or not we will ever know the entire story behind the motives for the actions these brothers took, let us not forget what Martin was telling the world by the sign he created just 1 year ago!

___

“Let There Be Peace On Earth”

Performed by:
Vince Gill

Written by:
American singer, actress Jill Jackson Miller
(1913-1995)

Jill Jackson’s early life was filled with tragedy and self-doubt. Although she had moderate success as a film star, she tried to kill herself after her marriage fell apart. Her unsuccessful suicide attempt led to a deep spiritual awakening, and after marrying songwriter Sy Miller they co-wrote the 1955 classic song of hope, “Let There Be Peace On Earth and Let It Begin With Me”. She called this song, “life-saving joy of God’s peace and unconditional love.”

“Let There Be Peace On Earth”

Let there be peace on earth
And let it begin with me.
Let there be peace on earth
The peace that was meant to be.

With God as our father
Brothers all are we.
Let me walk with my brother
In perfect harmony.

Let peace begin with me
Let this be the moment now. |
With every step I take
Let this be my solemn vow.

To take each moment
And live each moment
With peace eternally.

Let there be peace on earth,
And let it begin with me.

(child)

Let there be peace on earth
And let it begin with me.
Let there be peace on earth
The peace that was meant to be.

With God as our father
Brothers all are we.
Let me walk with my brother
In perfect harmony.

Let peace begin with me
Let this be the moment now.
With every step I take
Let this be my solemn vow.

To take each moment
And live each moment
In peace eternally.
Let there be peace on earth
And let it begin with me.

Click the link to view a YouTube video of the song we should all embrace.

___

“I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”
John 16:33 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

