Thought For The Day 04/23/13

Standard

Cry Uncle!

___

cry uncle

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/177/430629378_8c7465f83d.jpg

___

I have been frequently accused of deliberately twisting subject matter to my point of view. Above all, I know that life for a photographer cannot be a matter of indifference. Opinion often consists of a kind of criticism. But criticism can come out of love.

Robert Frank

http://www.quotes-friendship.com/quotes/twisting/

___

I notice how many people today seem determined to foist their opinion on all of us, and I have to wonder why they think that we will be persuaded by the strong-arm tactics they employ trying to get us to cry uncle! Yes, I know there are some out there that might just view what I do here with my posts every day as, not strong armed necessarily, but perhaps more like a thorn in your side! However, the difference, as I see it, rests with a single word; CHOICE! You see, those who employ arm-twisting tactics seldom offer choices as part of the dialog they initiate, while I ask you to consider ALL of your choices, and then make a decision based on the best information you have at hand. After all, isn’t there an unwritten rule that says learning new information is vital to our emotional, psychological and spiritual enrichment and empowerment? Refuse to broaden your horizons and you might as well head out the door and straight to the nearest funeral home! And I can’t speak for you all, but I suspect that there are few (if any) reading this, who are ready for embalming quite yet!

___

Remember the warning we are given in 1 Corinthians 10:12 ESV. “Therefore let anyone who thinks that he stands take heed lest he fall.” Yes, we all want to commune with other like-minded people on a regular basis, but sometimes that fosters complacency by preventing the challenges that new experiences give us. And there is nothing that topples us more quickly than standing for a time on what we think is the bedrock of what we assume is right, only to discover we really are standing on a bed of the ever shifting sand of our poor choices! Spiritual passion and growing faith are found in those willing to be proactive and who seek out a rich and meaningful and yes, different and more challenging, relationship with God. People like these are usually the ones eager to learn and to grow and to become the very best and well-rounded person they can be, anyway!

___

So think long and hard. Is this the kind of person you are or hope to be? Do you give time to learning by sharing God’s word? Do you give time to introspection and evaluation of your own heart and all that you want to accomplish? Do you then carry this one step further by seeking to enrich the lives of others by sharing the things you know and offering them some choices to consider as they embark on their own spiritual journey? If not, WHY NOT?

___

“For God has not given us a spirit of timidity, but of power and love and discipline.”

2 Timothy 1:7

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

