Thought For The Day 04/24/13

Standard

Time Flies!

***** 100 Years *****

___

time-flies

http://www.charlieglickman.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/time-flies.gif

___

What would you do if you knew you would live for 100 years? Would you change anything about the way you live? Would your choices such as the one you love, or your career be different? Would you change anything about how and what you believe in? I suspect that your answer would be the same as mine!

___

I began to think about these things while listening to a video shared by Friar Jeff as it was playing on YouTube. In fact, it was that song that inspired this post! You see, I honestly would change very little about the things I have the capacity to directly control. Yes, I might eat healthier, lose weight or perhaps try to manage my finances better. But these are things that we can and should act on anyway. But the important things….the dynamics of life and love and faith….are all set in place by the Almighty…. and I believe that in this, we are merely along for the ride!

___

The fruit of the spirit….things like kindness and compassion are already a part of our psyche, stamped on the billions of pieces of genetic material that comprise each heart and mind and soul from the moment life burst forth from the union of sperm and egg. You see, they are the result of the presence of the Holy Spirit, and they are not without purpose! And while we might be able to actively effect the degree with which we share these things as part of our interpersonal relationships, that they exist at all is divinely endowed. We are reminded that man’s hand plays no part in this when we read Galatians 5:22-23 ESV, “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.”

___

Yes, let us seek to control the things that are of the flesh and live the concrete absolutes of life the best we can. But the important stuff, our humanity, we must cede control of, to Him, and trust that He will guide us to share our spiritual fruit with others in a way that serves His purpose for our lives! Whether we live 1 year or 100 years, live those years with all of the love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control we hold within!

___

“100 Years”

written by:
John Ondrasik
“Five For Fighting”

~

I’m 15 for a moment
Caught in between 10 and 20
And I’m just dreaming
Counting the ways to where you are
~
I’m 22 for a moment
She feels better than ever
And we’re on fire
Making our way back from Mars
~
15 there’s still time for you
Time to buy and time to lose
15, there’s never a wish better than this
When you only got 100 years to live
~
I’m 33 for a moment
Still the man, but you see I’m a they
A kid on the way
A family on my mind
~
I’m 45 for a moment
The sea is high
And I’m heading into a crisis
Chasing the years of my life
~
15 there’s still time for you
Time to buy, Time to lose yourself
Within a morning star
15 I’m all right with you
~
15, there’s never a wish better than this
When you only got 100 years to live
Half time goes by
Suddenly you’re wise
~
Another blink of an eye
67 is gone
The sun is getting high
We’re moving on…
~
I’m 99 for a moment
Dying for just another moment
And I’m just dreaming
Counting the ways to where you are
~
15 there’s still time for you
22 I feel her too
33 you’re on your way
Every day’s a new day…
~
15 there’s still time for you
Time to buy and time to choose
Hey 15, there’s never a wish better than this
When you only got 100 years to live

~

click the YouTube link to hear this song

___

“Give, and it will be given to you. Good measure, pressed down, shaken together, running over, will be put into your lap. For with the measure you use it will be measured back to you.”

Luke 6:38 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

 

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

