Thought For The Day 04/27/13

Standard

Through The Eyes Of A Child

___

through the eyes of a child

http://fc06.deviantart.net/fs71/f/2010/099/3/7/3782b5306e1b3f9cf76fd7ff5e52c74b.jpg

___

“Usually children spend more time in the garden than anybody else. It is where they learn about the world, because they can be in it unsupervised, yet protected. Some gardeners will remember from their own earliest recollections that no one sees the garden as vividly, or cares about it as passionately, as the child who grows up in it.”

Carol Williams

http://changingthepresent.org/children_and_youth/quotes

___

Some time before we become doddering old fools, we all must make it a point to go to a park, sit amid God’s wonder and beauty, and watch children playing, which is why I am doing that very thing, this very moment! Every thing a child does and says is, for the most part, done with a wonder, awe and innocence that most of us have long since forgotten! But I think it’s time to forget the cares that being an adult in society has served to saddle us with, and return to a time when watching the fluttering wings of a butterfly or the darting of a humming-bird from flower to flower, or the striking of a bat by a ball hurled at breakneck speed, made our hearts soar and our spirit fill with wonder. Let’s close our eyes, and be transported back to a day when a drippy sweet lick of an ice cream cone on our tongue, made us close our eyes and sigh, or the time when a buttercup held under the chin of a chum made us giggle as we would search closely to see the buttery yellow tint reflected back at us from skin moistened with perspiration! I remember well, the moment a gathered bouquet of dandelions, held tightly in the iron grip of my toddler,  brought a smile to my face and a tear to my eye, and I reverently produced the finest crystal glass from my china cabinet to serve as a vase!

___

We are too long without returning to those kinder, simpler and better days and it is high time we remember them again, if even for an hour, You see today is and must be a new dawn, a new day and a new life for us all. And, just as a child seizes each new adventure that comes their way, so must we must grab a hold and live life with the same wonder, awe and pure joy that a child does! Today I am! And God knows, we all need it! Just remember these words from Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 ESV, if you think that the time for such things might not be at hand! “For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted; a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing…” Let today be your season to remember!

___

FEELING GOOD

performed by:
Michael Buble’

written by:
Anthony Newley and Leslie Bricusse
“The Roar Of The Greasepaint – The Smell Of The Crowd”
1964

~

Birds flying high
You know how I feel
Sun in the sky
You know how I feel
Reeds driftin’ on by
You know how I feel
It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life
For me
And I’m feeling good
And I’m feeling good

~
Fish in the sea
You know how I feel
River running free
You know how I feel
Blossom on the tree
You know how I feel
It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life
For me
And I’m feeling good
~
Dragonfly out in the sun
You know what I mean, don’t you know
Butterflies all havin’ fun
You know what I mean
Sleep in peace when the day is done
That’s what I mean
And this old world
Is a new world
And a bold world
For me
For me
~
Stars when you shine
You know how I feel
Scent of the pine
You know how I feel
Yeah freedom is mine
And I know how I feel
It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life
Huh
~
It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life
It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life
It’s a new life
For me
And I’m feeling good
And I’m feeling good
I’m feeling good
~

Click the link to view the YouTube video of this song.

___

“But do not overlook this one fact, beloved, that with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.”

2 Peter 3:8 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

