Thought For The Day 05/04/13

Standard

Coexisting!

___

http://www.launchphotography.com/STS-127.html

___

If you surrender to the wind, you can ride it.

Toni Morrison

http://www.quotegarden.com/wise-words.html

___

I want to begin today’s “Thought” with a disclaimer that the things I am writing about today are my own opinion and do not represent the opinion of other people of faith or the religious denominations (and the tenets) they observe. It’s just that today finds me in a bit of a tug of war in my gut, as I contemplate two diverse views I hold within. Today the part of me that finds the absolutes whose answers were revealed to me through the science that my field of nursing provided versus the part of me that knows that there are realities that are among the unexplainable in the universe, seem to be at war one with the other. And when this happens, I find myself asking another of my million dollar questions: Can science (and all the concretes that man’s curiosity seeks answers to) and faith (the ability to seek answers and accept that there may, in fact be no absolutes available to satisfy our curiosity) coexist?

___

Both things serve such diverse purposes for the good of mankind. We exist today in a much better (or at least healthier) world because of the wonders that science, has brought to bear.  And yet, our science and technologies that bring us to new frontiers in the universe as we explore the wonders that are things like Biology or Quantum Physics, are  just as divinely endowed in man by our Heavenly Father as are our beliefs in that unknown realm that faith delivers to us! We all are curious. Whether as a child looking through new eyes at the fuzzy caterpillar inching its way along the window screen, or as the octogenarian who manned the controls at Cape Canaveral as the very first American rocket, Explorer 1  launched into the unknown arena of space on January 31st, 1958 (I was only 3 1/2 years old then), the human animal has always been endowed with the curiosity and a fire in our belly that compels us to explore and discover all that we can about the world around us. But there it is in a nutshell. We were endowed! Peter 4:10 NIV reminds us, ” Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.”

___

We are a miracle of billions and billions of tiny atoms, each working in perfect harmony, that allows for the very special and unique talents we all are blessed with, as well as the curiosity and intelligence to compel us to understand all that we possibly can. And while both science and faith serve such fundamentally different purposes for our lives, one does not negate the need for the other in our existence. Just as science can make no claim about what God’s purpose or meaning is for man, neither can faith become a claimant in the absolutes that the world of science holds to be true. Think about Job 12:10 NIV, “In his hand is the life of every creature and the breath of all mankind.” All came from Him! And yet, as long as we choose to allow for the existence of both realities in our world, we might just discover that acceptance of things scientific bringing us even closer to all of the wonders that God, in His infinite wisdom, has blessed the world with!

___

If a man therefore cleanse himself from these, he shall be a vessel unto honour, sanctified, meet for the Master’s use, prepared unto every good work.

2 Timothy 2:24

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

