Thought For The Day 05/06/13

Standard

RED and YELLOW, BLACK and WHITE
They Are Precious In His Sight

CHRISTIAN, BUDDHIST, MUSLIM, JEW
They Are Precious To Him Too!

___

Jesus_079

___

An optimist is a person who sees a green light everywhere, while the pessimist sees only the red stoplight.The truly wise person is colorblind.

Albert Schweitzer

http://www.quotes-friendship.com/quotes/colorblind/

___

I read a posting recently by someone that contained so much intolerance toward the beliefs of others that I could barely contain the rage I felt bubbling toward the surface. But, I decided to take a deep breath, count to 10 and then do a bit of finger walking through the pages of my trusty handbook that I turn to for guidance, inspiration and solace. You see, contained within its texts, I just knew I could always turn to something… anything… to support my mantra…. which is, as far as I am concerned, one that embraces two core values: 1) Love thy neighbor and 2) Do unto others as you would have them do unto you! Well, imagine my surprise when I discovered that there is, in reality, very little in regard to tolerance contained within all of those pages of the Bible whose versions I use regularly… the King James Version, New King James, American Standard Version, New International Bible, and English Standard Version. Oh there are loads of instances of religious intolerance. But in the Old Testament? “Nada”, except for Micah prophesying about a coming time (who knows when), when nations will stop making war (Micah 4:3-5). And in the New Testament, what I could glean was a few passages that looked at the issue of tolerance solely between Christians. Yes, Jesus did treat the Samaritan women at the well with respect (John 4:7-27). But even the guarantee of entering Heaven’s gates? Yep, except for a section written by Paul, in Romans 2:14-16, where an exception is made whereby those whose hearts know the core beliefs of Christianity, even if they do not openly practice the faith, will be judged at the appropriate time, it seems as if entrance is reserved for those who knowingly choose to accept Christ as their personal Savior! And then it struck me. We really have evolved very little in 5000 years, despite what we may think about the matter!

___

Well I refuse to believe this is what my Lord and Savior asks of me. I believe He asks of me to respect all people and that means respecting their right to believe what brings them a measure of comfort. And if this damns me to Hell…. well, so be it! You see, I know that for the survival of the human race, something I know God wants for we, His children, we must see only the things that unite us as members of the human race, and not the things that divide us one from the other such as skin color, political view or even (dare I say it?) religion!!!!! So, for me, anyway, “RED and YELLOW, BLACK and WHITE, they are (all) precious in His sight”! Yes, I am a Christian. That comprises the core values of faith which bring me comfort and peace. But that does not mean my Jewish friends or my Muslim friends or my Hindi friends, or my Buddhist friends, rank somewhere below me in the eyes of my Father! Because it will be the linked arms of us all, standing side by side, united for the betterment of mankind that will see the world turn from the diversity of our cultures and toward the unity of a human love that will mirror the miracle of God’s divine love!

___

Here is “Jesus Loves The Little Children”
performed by Gary, from his “A Hymn A Week” project!

___

___

“If anyone says, “I love God,” and hates his brother, he is a liar; for he who does not love his brother whom he has seen cannot love God whom he has not seen. And this commandment we have from him: whoever loves God must also love his brother.”

1 John 4:20-21 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

