Thought For The Day 05/07/13

Standard

The Hand Of God? Karma? Both?

___

hawaiian shirts

http://www.hawaiianshirtfriday.net/1.jpeg

___

Karma moves in two directions. If we act virtuously, the seed we plant will result in happiness. If we act non-virtuously, suffering results.

Sakyong Mipham

http://www.finestquotes.com/select_quote-category-Karma-page-0.htm

___

KARMA! Most of us use this word often but how often do we really think about its meaning? Karma is the cosmic principle by which each person is rewarded or punished according to the actions or deeds which they effect during their lifetime. Now if you are of the Hindu or Buddhist faiths, this may, in fact, carry to the next lifetime, courtesy to the belief by those who practice these religions, of reincarnation. But, for the rest of us, we understand this to mean the rewards we will (or will not) reap in the hereafter! And indeed, I am a firm believer in the Christian equivalent, from Galatians 6:7-9 NIV, “ Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows. Whoever sows to please their flesh, from the flesh will reap destruction; whoever sows to please the Spirit, from the Spirit will reap eternal life. Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” Which is why we must make it a point to ALWAYS think, review and edit before we speak or act. But let’s consider taking this edit switch one step farther, and begin thinking about how it is we come to understand why the big “oops” we might have made, might really not be an “oops”. Instead it might just be God’s guiding hand on our back, steering us in a direction, the purpose of which might not yet be clear, but will become known to us, if we but cede to His will!

___

Now I am someone for whom “Impulsivity” and her sister, “Impatience”, forever known in my mind as the “imp” twins, might just be my middle name! But then again, I have learned the art of sitting back when I need to, and listening for an answer to come! It’s actually not as difficult as you might think it would be….for me, at least, although it still requires a dedicated effort on my part at banishing those evil “imp” sisters I mentioned! It is that ability to wait (patiently) for His purpose to be revealed, that is the theme behind a story I recently discovered, and want to share with you all!

___

The Hand Of God

by Joseph J Mazzella

~

I think that most of us go through our days here with our eyes half-closed because we so seldom see the Hand of God working in our lives. It happens in countless ways every single day. Let me give you an example. Two years ago several of the Hawaiian shirts that I love to wear had become worn and threadbare. I really wanted some new ones so I saved any extra money I had for several weeks to pay for them. Finally, I headed to my favorite clothing store with a large denomination bill in my wallet to buy them.

~

When I got to the store I saw a local charity collecting money for the poor. I reached in my wallet for a five dollar bill to help them out. I grabbed it and dropped it in the bucket. As I let go of it, however, I noticed that it wasn’t the five dollar bill but rather the large denomination one that I had saved to pay for my new shirts. I went back home disappointed at my mistake, but I quickly made peace with it. I knew I could wear my old shirts for a while longer and it felt good knowing I was helping to buy food and clothes for people in desperate need.

~

The next week I stopped by the local Goodwill store to make a donation when I noticed several Hawaiian shirts brightening up the clothing racks. I went through them and picked out enough to last me a long while for a fraction of the price I would have paid for new ones. It made me laugh and smile when I realized that God had given me all I needed and also helped me to help others as well. I thanked Him for guiding my hand and for guiding my heart that day.

___

While I am not Roman Catholic, there is one Saint for whom I have great admiration and respect. It was Saint Francis of Assisi who is credited with saying the following: “While we have time, let us do good!” It is a truth that I try my hardest to live by and it is my fervent hope that you will too! Our time here is but the blink of an eye in all of eternity. So while we are here, we must “do all the good we can, give all the help we can, share all the love we can, spread all the joy we can, scatter all the sunshine we can, utter all the truth we can” (thank you Mr. Mazzella for these words). But in doing so, be prepared to let those “imp” sisters sit idly by while you wait to feel His hand, helping you as you find your way!

___

“The wind blows to the south and goes around to the north; around and around goes the wind, and on its circuits the wind returns. All streams run to the sea, but the sea is not full; to the place where the streams flow, there they flow again.”

Ecclesiastes 1:6-7 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

