Thought For The Day 05/09/13

Standard

Every Gift Matters

___

Dog eating bread

https://www.facebook.com/SoTheDailyPosts

___

Love and kindness are never wasted. They always make a difference. They bless the one who receives them, and they bless you, the giver.

Barbara de Angelis 

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/make_a_difference.html#uTbom8hMhxHPeGUz.99

___

The standards we set in society seems perpetually fixed on somehow dividing all of the world’s “haves” from the “have-nots”. But for those of faith to embrace this standard, only diminishes us in the eyes of our Heavenly Father, as far as I am concerned. Yet how many of us would willingly reduce ourselves to the lowly state of a “have-not” if it meant that we would reap His blessings, as a result? Think about it. Give up everything for the love of Him? That is what many who are called choose to do!

___

I so admire the depth of this kind of faith! And in all honesty, if I lived alone and was beholden only to myself, I wonder where I would have been led to as I traveled life’s path to this point! But I am not alone, nor do I think I ever could be! I do not believe it is what He has intended for my life! And because of this, my life is forever intertwined with that of my husband and children. What I choose to sacrifice will always affect those in my immediate household, and since I was called by Him to become a member of this family that we, my husband and I, have created, and because our joining was sanctified by promises we made in front of Him and the rest of the world, in His place of worship, I hold myself to be responsible for maintaining my life and the lifestyle that supports this union.

___

Perhaps it is all of these things that also support the need I have within, that dictates to me that it is also my personal responsibility to give back to those less fortunate, because of the blessings He has given me. I gladly do this with children in my community who are the victims of abuse and neglect as a court appointed advocate who gives them a voice during legal proceedings. My neighbor pays his blessings forward through his support as a board member for our local Humane Society. My daughter and her fellow employees offer their collective “Thank You’s” by supporting efforts at fundraising for various non-profits with things such as bake sales, throughout the year at their job. (Just this past October, her team raised several thousand dollars for Breast Cancer research!) You see, all of God’s creations, human and animal alike,  are deserving of the best we can find within, to bestow. And it is this concept which brings to mind a passage from Matthew and a story I shared recently on my social media page.

___

Matthew 15:25-28 NIV, shares the story of the faith of a Canaanite woman whose daughter was possessed by demons. Christ’s disciples urged their master to send her away and at first, he chastises her for sharing crumbs with the most innocent and pure of His creations!  “The woman came and knelt before him. “Lord, help me!” she said. He replied, “It is not right to take the children’s bread and toss it to the dogs.”  “Yes it is, Lord,” she said. “Even the dogs eat the crumbs that fall from their master’s table.” Then Jesus said to her, “Woman, you have great faith! Your request is granted.” And her daughter was healed at that moment.” In her wisdom, she reminded all that there are none so lowly that a few crumbs, whether food, or faith, won’t make a huge difference! And, not surprisingly, this passage also reminds me of the following story which I found only 2 days ago!

___

An old man was going for a walk, when he noticed a little boy feeding a thin, shaggy looking dog with bits of bread.
He went up to the boy and asked him why he was sharing his bread with the dogs.

The little boy answered, “Because they have nothing. No home, no family, and if I don’t feed them they will die.”
“But there are homeless dogs everywhere,” the old man replied. “So your efforts don’t really make a difference”
The little boy looked at the dog and stroked him. “But for this little dog, it makes all the difference in the world.”

___

We may not be fortunate enough to give it back or pay it forward on a large scale, but never forget that a gift of selflessness toward just one, changes the entire world for that one. There is never any gift that is too small to be given, when it is given from the heart. Remember the tale of the “Little Drummer Boy?” Yes, it is fiction, but it is also another example that proves what I believe is an absolute!

“It is not the size of the gift but the heart of the giver that matters!”

___

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.”

James 1:7 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

