Thought For The Day 05/10/13

Standard

In The Beginning Was The Word…

___

seeds

http://ts2.mm.bing.net/th?id=H.4576838438879537&pid=1.7

___

“Anyone can count the seeds in an apple, but only God can count the number of apples in a seed.”

Robert H. Schuller

http://thinkexist.com/quotes/with/keyword/seeds/

___

I once read about something called a “Sermon Garden”, so-called because every idea that leads to a message must start somewhere. And I like the idea of a message being a seed anyway. Think about it like this….we have an idea of something to say but no idea how to begin to say it. So we plant it away (like a seed in the earth) in our mind and in our heart.  Now if we tend to this glimmer of an idea and give it the nutrients it needs to germinate, such as some prayer and introspection, it will begin to take root. OR, it may simply dry up and be reabsorbed into the  heart or mind, making room for another to be sown in its place at some future time. But if it does germinate, takes root, and blossom, what wonder and beauty there can be found, in the miracle it can effect as it transforms the heart of another who chooses to partake of, or bear witness to, its wisdom and magic!

___

Often my sermon garden begins with an inspiration I get from the oddest of places, such as a billboard or a display in a store or even a single word uttered by a news reporter on TV. But when something strikes, I try to stow it away for some future time when it will be just what I need to write here for you to read. I have gotten into the habit of keeping notes in my smart phone since it is the one thing that is ALWAYS with me, which is a good thing because anymore, I have a mind like a sieve. You see, any nugget planted there is likely to be forever lost, victim to the “what might have been” club that many my age seem to belong to these days. But in my phone they stay, right next to my Bible, a search engine, a dictionary, my address book, saved prayers and all of my special “you never know when they might come in handy” things that I depend on every day!
___
Now just as I plant seeds of inspiration within myself, so also do I seek to sow the seeds of the fruit those ideas bear, farther still, in the hopes that they will somehow take a hold, germinate and grow within you.  And what you do (or do not do) with those seeds is entirely up to you. Carry them farther still or not, it is more than the words alone that can inspire. That we have  gleaned a spark of inspiration and learned something new about the Bible or Christ is a victory in and of itself. Because it is also the concept, thought, heart and soul behind this simple collection of black and white (and now sometimes colored) letters that I join together, that nudges the mind to think just a little bit differently. And that, my friend, can effect a change for a lifetime!
___
So the next time you wonder what difference a word or group of words make, or want to know how it all began, think about how the collection of words below began as seeds in a sermon garden for the greatest voice to ever preach to the ears of man. You see, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.” (John 1:1 NIV). They were once but an inspiration but now, these words are an iconic testimony, and central to the core of Christianity! In other words, they are EVERYTHING!

Our Father, who art in heaven,

Hallowed be thy Name.

Thy Kingdom come.

Thy Will be done, On earth as it is in heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread.

And forgive us our trespasses,

As we forgive those who trespass against us.

And lead us not into temptation,

But deliver us from evil.

For thine is the kingdom,

and the power, and the glory,

forever and ever.

Amen

___

YouTube performance of “The Lord’s Prayer” performed by Charlotte Church

___

“I am the true vine, and my Father is the vine-dresser. Every branch in me that does not bear fruit he takes away, and every branch that does bear fruit he prunes, that it may bear more fruit. Already you are clean because of the word that I have spoken to you. Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing…..”

John 15:1-5 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

