Thought For The Day 05/15/13

Standard

Hymns…They Are A Changin’…

___

christian-rock-concert-drums-small-78671

___

“God whispers to us in our pleasures, speaks in our conscience, but shouts in our pains: it is His megaphone to rouse a deaf world”. 

C.S. Lewis

http://christiansonghits.blogspot.com/2010/09/christian-quotes.html

___

Remember when the only thing people had to resort to get their fix of spirituality in music was simply your grandmother’s hymns or gospel tunes from days gone by? Well those days are long gone and while there are many who might consider combining the two words “Christian Metal” to be an oxymoron ( a phrase in which two words of contradictory meaning are used together for special effect….kind of like “Military Intelligence”), no one reading this can deny that times they are a changin’ and as such, we must all change, if even a little bit, as well! And that has to mean opening up the mind to the possibility that faith music is changin’, as well!  Since no one can also deny that we live in an overwhelmingly negative world that looks to sweep religion under the rug, from taking “God “out of schools and municipal buildings to condemning the essential components of another’s faith, why then are we often surprised to discover that many are seeking to express themselves and their faith in a somewhat rebellious way, such as we find in Contemporary Christian music?

___

There are literally thousands of bible verses that address music and song and singing His praises, which is just fine by me, since music is something I am passionate about. I love nearly all kinds (except, perhaps some Country whose dulcimer-like twangyness seems to me like fingernails across the blackboard….sorry to those fans out there….that’s just my sensibility). Anyway, while most of these verses are contained in the Book of Psalms, they are also found throughout both the Old and New Testaments. Singing is a magical experience that, like a smile, just seems to not only lift the spirits and but also brings joy to the heart. From “Sing to Him, sing psalms to Him; talk of all His wondrous works!”1 Chronicles 16:9 (NKJV)  to “All creatures in heaven, on earth, under the earth, and on the sea, and all that is in them, were singing. I heard them say, “May praise and honor for ever and ever be given to the One who sits on the throne and to the Lamb! Give them glory and power for ever and ever!”” Revelations 5:13 (NIRV), we are directed to praise and worship Him with songs.

___

To that end, I plan to periodically introduce to you some newer and younger Christian musicians and some of the newer “they ain’t your grandmother’s hymns” songs of praise they are bringing to faith today! Let me start by introducing Jeremy Thomas Camp (born January 12, 1978). He is a minister and a contemporary Christian musician from Lafayette, Indiana, with 7 albums and 17 number one hit songs to his credit. These include the song I want to share today, “There Will Be A Day”. It is far less aggressive and “in your face” than many metal groups of today, and I think it is a gentle way of “getting your feet wet” in this new genre’ of Christian music. Enjoy! And, by the way, if you have a favorite contemporary Christian musician, please email me their name at Mandyspath2011@aol.com and I will include them in a future post!

___

There Will Be A Day

written by Jeremy Thomas Camp

~

I try to hold on to this world with everything I have ,
But I feel the weight of what it brings, and the hurt that tries to grab.
The many trials that seem to never end, His word declares this truth,
That we will enter in this rest, with wonders anew. 

~

But I hold on to this hope and the promise that He brings,
That there will be a place with no more suffering. 

~

There will be a day with no more tears, no more pain, and no more fears.
There will be a day when the burdens of this place, will be no more, we’ll see Jesus face to face.
But until that day, we’ll hold on to you always. 

~

I know the journey seems so long, You feel your walking on your own.
But there has never been a step, Where you’ve walked out all alone.
Troubled soul don’t lose your heart, Cause joy and peace he brings,
And the beauty that’s in store, Outweighs the hurt of life’s sting. 

~

But I hold on to this hope and the promise that He brings,
That there will be a place with no more suffering. 

~

There will be a day with no more tears, no more pain, and no more fears.
There will be a day when the burdens of this place, will be no more, we’ll see Jesus face to face.
But until that day, we’ll hold on to you always. 

~

I can’t wait until that day where the very one I’ve lived for always, Will wipe away the sorrow that I’ve faced,
Oh,to touch the scars that rescued me from a life of shame and misery this is why, this is why I sing….

~

There will be a day with no more tears, no more pain, and no more fears.
There will be a day when the burdens of this place, will be no more, we’ll see Jesus face to face. 

~

There will be a day with no more tears, no more pain, and no more fears.
There will be a day when the burdens of this place, will be no more, we’ll see Jesus face to face. 

~

There will be a day, He’ll wipe away the stains, He’ll wipe away the tears, He’ll wipe away the tears…..there will be a day.

___

Click to view the YouTube video of this song!

~

___

“The Lord is my strength and shield. I trust him with all my heart. He helps me, and my heart is filled with joy. I burst out in songs of thanksgiving.” 

Psalm 28:7 (NLT)

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

