Thought For The Day 05/17/13

Standard

Change By His Hand!

___

Change_is_good_by_biswajittuka

___

“Why do you go away? So that you can come back. So that you can see the place you came from with new eyes and extra colors. And the people there see you differently, too. Coming back to where you started is not the same as never leaving.”

Terry Pratchett
“A Hat Full of Sky”

http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/change

___

It is impossible for me to see the metamorphosis I have undergone by His hand since, to my mind at least, I seem as if I am exactly the same person today, as I was way back in early 2011, when I first felt His hand and heard His whisper. But suddenly, I realized that the mirror is really right there, for both you and me to peer into to see the Mandy that was. My posts serve as that mirror. My journey of faith was the original tag I placed as the purpose and goal for these posts, and indeed, it has really been more of a roller coaster ride than a winding journey all these months. But change I have! You need only share my very first few posts to see that!

___

Hello World. Thought For The Day 03/25/11

I like the idea of posting a thought for the day. Not only does it require us to spend some time in quiet contemplation but then encourages us to give our thoughts and feelings a voice. Somehow, even a few minutes of introspection does wonders for giving one a fresh perspective of the issue being questioned and can go far in turning confusion and inaction into a clear and definitive solution. Or perhaps it’s just God leaning over our shoulder and whispering the answer in our ear when we’re finally ready, willing and able to understand it!

___

That’s it! No inspirational picture or a quote to ruminate on and certainly no scripture passage. You see, I was merely a toddler at the time. I was just as Matthew reminds us is the way we generally begin our journey of faith, in the following verse: Matthew 18:3 KJV “and said, “Truly I say to you, unless you are converted and become like children, you shall not enter the kingdom of heaven.” I was uncertain exactly what I was being called to do and I certainly had no idea what my first step would be. But I moved forward, trusting that although I might not have a clue, He did and if He was leading me to it, it would lead me through it! And I have grown….indeed, way more than I ever could have dreamed I would. I have not managed to change the world as was my dream once upon a teen-aged wishful moment, more years ago that I sometimes care to remember. Ahhhhh, the days when idealism ruled my head and my head ruled my heart! No, today my God rules my heart and now my heart rules my head and tells me what each new moment will bring. And no I have not changed the world, but I have changed you all…..if even a tiny bit. And in that my God is pleased with me and I am content! You see, I looked to Him and trusted in Him, and just as we are told in Proverbs 3:5-6 ESV, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.” And while the path I am journeying has been anything but straight, my purpose for living has definitely been made straight, to my mind and to my spirit!

___

“Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”

Philippians 3:12-14 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

