Thought For The Day 05/21/13

Standard

I Will Praise God’s Name In Song…..

Psalm 69:30 NIV

___

Colton_Dixon_in_February_2013

___

I was born with music inside me. Music was one of my parts. Like my ribs, my kidneys, my liver, my heart. Like my blood. It was a force already within me when I arrived on the scene. It was a necessity for me-like food or water.

Ray Charles

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/topics/topic_music.html

___

My second post that discusses the new ways His name is being praised in song centers around an “American Idol” wannabe! Colton Dixon was barely old enough to vote in the last Presidential Election here in the United States, but his style of singing praise is being heralded as nothing less than an awe-inspiring testimony to his faith in Christ Jesus.

___

Raised in a Christian home in Murfreesboro, Tennessee, the son of Michael and Teresa Dixon was a 2010 graduate of Middle Tennessee Christian School. With his sister Schyler, he is a member of a Christian rock band called “Messenger”. Colton Dixon has performed worldwide in all settings from churches (including the mega Saddleback Church in California), to stage and television programming (including “The Ellen DeGeneres Show”), and even attending the White House Correspondent’s Dinner, where he was a guest of  the Christian Broadcasting Network.

___

Eliminated early on from the “American Idol” audition process during  season 10, he was encouraged to re-audition for season 11. He succeeded round after round, making it all the way to the top 7 semi-finalists, before being eliminated on  April 19, 2012. However, elimination, coupled with movie star good looks, only served to guarantee his ticket to success, and the rest is history…….so far! 

___

The debut of his original song, “Never Gone” took place on the “American Idols LIVE! Tour 2012”, and it was then that he decided to debut a faith-based collection that would capture the interest of all music fans. His first album, “A Messenger” was released on January 29, 2013, selling 22,000 copies in the very first week, where it debuted at number 15 on Billboard Hot 200, and as number one on both the US Christian and US Gospel Charts! The song I’m sharing with you today, “Love Has Come For Me”, is from that album and was featured on the top 8 results show of “American Idol Season 12” just this past March! This young man certainly embraces Psalm 68:4 (ESV), “Sing to God, sing praises to his name; lift up a song to him who rides through the deserts; his name is the Lord; exult before him!” 

___

LOVE HAS COME FOR ME

written and performed by:
Colton Dixon

___

I tell myself that I can do better
Someday I’m gonna get it all together
Who am I fooling?
I am weak and prone to be

The me that I will always be
So what’s left to do but surrender?
~
This is where I am
And this is where You start
And everything I needed
Is everything You are
~
Love has come for me
Oh, love has come for me
~
I’ve never understood but it’s amazing
The way you never let the past enslave me
How do you do it?
Love the heart, the part of me
That desperately needs a remedy
I wanna be a life You keep changing
~
Cause this is where I am
And this is where You start
And everything I needed
Is everything You are
~
Love has come for me
Oh, love has come for me
~
And I’ll go where You want me to be
And even though I may be broken
I can see Your love has come for me
~
I’m never gonna get it all together
So, what’s left to do but surrender?
~
Cause this is where I am
And this is where You start
And everything I needed
Is everything You are
~
Love has come for me
Love has come for me
~
Yeah, love has come for me
Love has come for me

___

Click below to view the YouTube video of this song.

~

___

“Saying, “I will tell of your name to my brothers; in the midst of the congregation I will sing your praise.”

Hebrews 2:12 (ESV)

___

I do not own any copyright credit to the songs nor the video shared. I merely share with you what is publicly available for view on YouTube!

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

