Thought For The Day 05/24/13

Standard

Is Now And Ever Shall Be….

___

reflecting pool

___

I’m always sort of reflecting on what I do on what I’ve done. Usually before I make a new album, I’ll listen to the previous albums just to see where I’ve been.

Lenny Kravitz

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/reflecting.html

___

I saw this picture yesterday morning and I began thinking about the person I was B.C.! And no, I really don’t mean B.C. in the literal sense, although my daughter will jokingly say that she suspects I lived sometime back in pre-history, when dinosaurs roamed the earth, when something I do or say seems particularly antiquated to her. No, I am referring to the Mandy that existed before Christ. The Mandy that was before He became an integral part of my very soul. And I thought, and I thought and I thought. And I felt as if I had hit a wall. I felt exasperated, frustrated, and suddenly, very, very old as I struggled to remember the person I was!

___

Yes, I can remember most, if not all (after all I did live when those dinosaurs roamed), of the milestones that happened in my life. I remember the sights, sounds and smells of those things. I remember the very second I met Dan. I remember the exact second after that one, when I realized that love at first sight was really true! I remember the day he proposed. I remember walking down the aisle. I remember the exact moment my mother died. I remember the moment each of my babies was born and the moment each was put into my arms. I remember their weddings. I remember the birth of my grandson after my daughter struggled so, with me at her side, before the doctors determined he needed to be delivered by Cesarian. And as I remembered these things, I was instinctively drawn to a particular verse and I gave my thanks for each and every one. Philippians 1:3-4 NIV, “ I thank my God every time I remember you. In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy.” You see, I think we remember these kinds of events because it is often the singular moments that matter more than the saga that is our existence from birth to death! But suddenly I realized something else that made me quiver to the core. I could not remember the moment B.C., because He had been there all along.

___

There was never a single solitary second where He was not a part of all that I am. The difference was not so much that He did not exist within my heart, but that I had not really allowed myself to hear Him, never mind acknowledge that He existed! But isn’t the way of the human  heart, mind and soul anyway? God has never been silent, throughout all of history. He has always found some way to communicate His will to us all. The issue becomes not that we can not hear Him as much as it is that we do not know exactly HOW to listen because we do so with ears and mind rather than heart and soul! You see, He gives to us a “dictionary” in the form of His word. The answers to so much of what He wants to say to us are contained and defined within the pages of the Bible. And the more we read and see the words contained, the more we align our hearts to His. Then, SUDDENLY, the Holy Spirit moves through us and the things we struggle to understand, suddenly become crystal clear! You see, we’ve transitioned from hearing to listening!

___

While the words in the following bible verse sound very dour and almost foreboding, they say a lot to us about this very thing! 2 Timothy 3:16-17 ESV says, “All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work.” Confused? Don’t be! Just break it down into language for the 21st century, that makes sense. All He is saying is that if we listen to the words contained in this unique “dictionary” of His word, and we try to apply them to our living, well…..everything we need an answer to is right there. Both good and bad, paying attention to them will help us to live a life that honors Him! It really is that simple!

___

“For it is made holy by the word of God and prayer. If you put these things before the brothers, you will be a good servant of Christ Jesus, being trained in the words of the faith and of the good doctrine that you have followed.

1 Timothy 4:5-6 (ESV)

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

