Thought For The Day 05/27/13

Standard

The 800th

___

___

We look far ahead and call it ‘future’ but fail to realize the coming step is the closest milestone for future.

Suman Aakrosh.

http://www.searchquotes.com/search/Milestone/

___

Today marks a milestone I never believed might be possible. Today marks the 800th posting of this serial I have come to know and to love as, simply, “My Thought”! Nearly every one of those 800 have been an original thought, conceived, given life and delivered right here, direct from my laptop right into your waiting arms! A few were not totally original, but I long ago made peace with the fact that there would be times when I just could not manage a new creation….such as the few posts I shared following surgery I had. My friend Friar Jeff was gracious enough to allow me to pre-load a couple of his writings, until I felt strong enough to begin again. And more recently, I was compelled to re-share a couple, albeit with some upgrading and editing, when Dan was in the hospital. But, by and large, and for better or worse, you all got the very best I could manage for that particular day. Actually, every single one of the last 800 days!

___

The growth I witnessed within myself over these last 800 days has been astounding, to say the least. But then again, with the Almighty as my guide, and as I was learning more and more about myself and my faith, as I journeyed, the transition from, literally, an embryo to the young adult I am, in terms of faith these days, has been incredible. I say young adult, because it is my fervent hope that I will continue to evolve and to grow and to age gracefully, with God always by my side, in all the years that are yet to reveal themselves to me. And while I might wish that they would number 50 or 60 more, realistically, at my age and what it is that constitutes my likely life expectancy, I may just reach my golden years, in the general scheme of things, at the exact same time “My Thought” becomes a Golden Oldie, and it reaches its mandatory retirement age! But in the mean time, I continue on, because I can no more stop doing this that I can will my very heart to cease its beating in my breast. And as I ask that he continue to help me in my journey, I am reminded of this verse: “He asked life of you; you gave it to him, length of days forever and ever.” (Psalms 21:4 ESV).

___

My husband once jokingly editorialized the following quip. “We are all born, life sucks, and then we die.” And while I am a testimony to the fact that life does not, nor ever will, suck, I do pause to wonder what I have given back to life and the world, as a whole, during the last 800 days when His purpose for my existence became clear to me. And what will I continue to be blessed to give over the next 800 or 8,000 days that are my tomorrow’s, God willing! I can not know the answer to that, but you know….you who share this unpredictable journey with me every day!

___

The fact that this anniversary is occurring on Memorial Day, here in the States, is not lost on me either. Were it not for my ancestors coming to this land to seek a capacity for free expression of their religious choices, coupled with the ongoing heroism of my family members who have served in the military, and continue to do so, to guarantee that this freedom continues to be mine to embrace, what you read every single day would, perhaps, have never been even a dream, never mind a reality! And it is to all of you courageous men and women, heroes all, but especially to my Uncle Warren, my mother’s brother, that I offer my thanks by sharing this verse from Psalm 3:6 (ASV), “I will not be afraid of ten thousands of the people That have set themselves against me round about.” Yes, it is in your debt I will always be, since your sacrifice allows me the capacity to be able to celebrate the freedom to follow the path my God has chosen for me!

___

Uncle Warren

http://ts1.mm.bing.net/th?id=H.5053068681020080&pid=1.7

Warren Stafford, 2nd Lieutenant, US Army Air Forces
born: March 31st, 1920
missing in action: February 3rd, 1944

___

Since I never have followed any hard and fast rules of sermonizing, my writings have, at times, taken directions other than a hard and fast exploration of God’s word. But that is OK by me. Aside from the fact that since this blog and “My Thought” are both mine and I can choose to run in whatever direction He guides me to each day, it is ALL of the things that I have shared, day in and day out, that have made me the Mandy of May 27th, 2013. And you want to know something? She ain’t half bad!

___

For by me your days will be multiplied, and years will be added to your life.

Proverbs 9:11 (ESV)

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

