Thought For The Day 05/29/13

Standard

Dear God,

___

dear-god-its-me-again-1

___

What a lot we lost when we stopped writing letters. You can’t reread a phone call.

Liz Carpenter

http://www.quotegarden.com/letters.html

___

A researcher in London has been testing children’s thinking skills since 1976. Now I am not referring to cognitive skills which is the process of knowing, perceiving and remembering. I am referring to testing to determine actual rational reasoning to produce thoughts. Their findings, and I quote, were that “children appear to be becoming dumber”! [a]. On what planet do these researchers live? Certainly not this one! I see evidence from all walks of life that there is a greater attention these days to stimulate and expose children to all manner of wondrous experiences in this, the 21st century. And for my money, attitudes and rot, like this, are the root for undermining and eroding the self-esteem of youngsters everywhere! When someone as learned as a man of science can produce data telling someone they are dumb, what reason can there possibly be, for their striving to be the very best they CAN and, even more importantly, SHOULD be! Then I remember a man that proves that the things God endows are ours, always! For a moment, consider Albert Einstein (1879-1055).

___

I am going to share a few facts about Albert Einstein that you may not know, or may have forgotten, along the way!

  1. Albert Einstein did not talk until he was three years old.
  2. It was initially suspected that he was mentally retarded.
  3. He failed abysmally in primary school in Germany.
  4. His teachers characterized him as slow and lazy.
  5. His only educational strength lie in Mathematics.
  6. He quit school at the age of 15, having been told by his teacher there was nothing left to teach him.
  7. In 1905, he proposed the theory of relativity.
  8. Later in 1905, he proved how mass and energy were equivalent (E=mc2, i.e. energy equals mass times the velocity of light squared).
  9. In 1921, at the age of 42, he won the Noble prize for Physics.
  10. In 1952, the Israeli government offered him the position of President, which he turned down, in embarrassment.
  11. Just one week before his death, he agreed his name should go on a manifesto urging all nations to give up nuclear weapons. He wanted one of his last earthly acts to argue, as he had done his whole life, for world peace!

___

So, do you still think that we should go around believing that children are becoming dumber? (Well, if you do, I have some very nice swamp land available for sale! It was a legacy from Albert Einstein! ) In all honesty though, for many things, we’re only along for the ride, anyway, so we might as well sit down and hold on!! But we can control some things, especially when it comes to our little ones!

___

We need to cultivate all things that we can, within the hearts and minds of our children. Children are like sponges and they trust, from the earliest age, all of the things we as adults (but parent’s, especially) teach them. If we teach them they are valueless, they will grow with no sense of self or of their own importance. But if we teach them faith, and to respect, and to honor, and to be loyal, and to be trustworthy, and to be kind, and to be brave, and to be reverent…….and to LOVE……..most especially, to LOVE, anything is possible. Make them excited for all things in life….whether it is reading a book, or writing a letter or dreaming a dream or believing in God (especially this last one), because if we are to have a future, it lies with them…….not us!

___

[a] http://www.blcu.edu.cn/ielts/reading/A%20decline%20in%20children’s%20thinking%20abilities%20%20Dimming%20%20The%20Economist.htm#page-content

___

THESE ARE REAL LETTERS WRITTEN TO GOD BY CHILDREN!

Dear GOD,
Are you really invisible or is that just a trick?
Lucy

Dear GOD,
Is it true my father won’t get in Heaven if he uses his bowling words in the house?
Anita

Dear GOD,
Did you mean for the giraffe to look like that or was it an accident?
Norma

Dear GOD,
Instead of letting people die and having to make new ones, why don’t You just keep the ones You have now?
Jane

Dear GOD,
Who draws the lines around the countries?
Nan

Dear GOD, I went to this wedding and they kissed right in church. Is that okay?
Neil

Dear GOD,
I think about You sometimes even when I’m not praying.
Elliot

Dear GOD,
I didn’t think orange went with purple until I saw the sunset You made on Tuesday.

Margaret

Dear GOD, What does it mean You are a Jealous God? I thought You had everything.
Jane

Dear GOD,
I read the Bible. What does “begat” mean? Nobody will tell me.
Allison

Dear GOD,
The bad people laughed at Noah, “You made an ark on dry land you fool.” But he was smart, he stuck with You. That’s what I would do.
Eddie

Dear GOD,
You don’t have to worry about me. I always look both ways.

Dean

Dear GOD,
Of all the people who work for You, I like Noah and David the best.
Rob

Dear GOD, My brother told me about being born but it doesn’t sound right. They’re just kidding, aren’t they?
Marsha

Dear GOD,
If we come back as something, please don’t let me be Jennifer Horton because I hate her.
Denise

Dear GOD,
Did you really mean “do unto others as they do unto you”? Because if you did, then I’m going to fix my brother!
Darla

Dear GOD,
Thank you for the baby brother, but what I prayed for was a puppy.
Joyce

Dear GOD,
It rained for our whole vacation and is my father mad! He said some things about You that people are not supposed to say, but I hope You will not hurt him anyway.
Your friend (but I am not going to tell you who I am)

Dear GOD,
Why is Sunday school on Sunday? I thought it was supposed to be our day of rest.

Tom

Dear GOD,
Please send me a pony. I never asked for anything before, You can look it up.
Bruce

Dear GOD,
If You give me a genie lamp like Aladdin, I will give you anything you want except my money or my chess set.
Raphael

Dear GOD,
My brother is a rat. You should give him a tail. Ha ha!
Danny

Dear GOD, Maybe Cain and Abel would not kill each other so much if they had their own rooms. It works with my brother.
Larry

Dear GOD,
I want to be just like my Daddy when I get big, but not with so much hair all over.
Sam

Dear GOD,
I think the stapler is one of your greatest inventions.
Ruth M.

Dear GOD,
I bet it is very hard for You to love all of everybody in the whole world. There are only 4 people in our family and I can never do it.
Nan

Dear GOD,
If You watch me in church Sunday, I’ll show You my new shoes.
Mickey

Dear GOD,
I would like to live 900 years like the guy in the Bible.
Chris

Dear GOD,
We read Thomas Edison made light. But in school they said You did it. So I bet he stoled your idea.
Donna

Dear GOD,
I do not think anybody could be a better God. Well, I just want You to know but I am not just saying that because You are God already.
Charles

Dear GOD,
In school they told us what You do. Who does it when You are on vacation?

Jane

___

He replied, “Because you have so little faith. Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.”

Matthew 17:20 (NIV)

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

