Thought For The Day 06/11/13

Standard

A Salvation Garden Of Life And Love

___

God the gardner

___

When I go in my garden with a spade and dig a bed, I feel such an exhilaration and health that I discover that I have been defrauding myself all this time in letting others do for me what I should have done with my own hands.

Ralph Waldo Emerson

http://www.howtogardenadvice.com/special_topics/gardening_quotes.html

___

My dad lives with Dan and me, and having a multi-generational household, while challenging, has benefits beyond measure. Landon is very lucky to know and be able to interact with his Great-Grandfather which is something few children are able to lay claim to especially since so many families are fractured by divorce and estrangement these days. The Bruscella-Hilliard families live in very close proximity and while we are no longer across the street, we remain within walking distance….or at least only a 3 minute drive for the out-of-shape grandparents!

___

Because of our proximity, and the fact that Sabrina’s career has led to being appointed General Manager of a 57 acre resort here at the beach, accompanied by the long days that accompany that responsibility, I pick Landon up from daycare and he comes here almost every day in the afternoon, although usually after first having to follow his guiding directions to the fast food place with yellow hued arches in front. Then we enjoy a family dinner all together, holding each others hands as we offer grace, our Amen’s followed by 3 squeezes of the hand we are holding. The reason is twofold. It first represents the Holy Trinity (Father, Son and Holy Spirit) and secondly, means I LOVE YOU (at least in our household)! We kiss one another every single night before Sabrina (and company) head home, Landon reserving the largest number of kisses and “snuggles” for his Pepaw.

___

Yes, sometimes we all grate on each other’s nerves but don’t most close-knit families with such diverse personalities? But the pros of a household like ours, far out-weighs the cons. You see, we are sowing the seeds of family and love in our house. The seeds I sow in my house might be different from the ones you plant in your own, but the burgeoning blooms that are found in a home where love exists (not only love of family but love of God, as well), are glorious indeed. The Lord will guide you always; he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail. Isaiah 58: 11 (NIV)

___

This email was sent to me by my dad last year, and I used it once before but I think it is worth repeating. You see, it is the perfect gardening guide for sowing your very own beautiful blooms within your family. And while I do not see myself as a wife of noble character (Proverbs chapter 31), Proverbs 31:26-28 (NIV) are verses I strive to live my life by….at least most of the time! “She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue. She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness. Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her:” Just imagine the beautiful colors and smells and tastes that might just burst forth in your own life, if you follow a few of these guidelines for your own garden of life and love and FAMILY!!

___

FOR THE GARDEN OF YOUR DAILY LIVING

First, you Come to the garden alone, while the dew is still on the roses.

Then you:

___

PLANT THREE ROWS OF PEAS

1. Peace of mind

2. Peace of heart

3. Peace of soul

___

PLANT FOUR ROWS OF SQUASH

1. Squash gossip

2. Squash indifference

3. Squash grumbling

4. Squash selfishness

___

PLANT FOUR ROWS OF LETTUCE

1. Lettuce be faithful

2. Lettuce be kind

3. Lettuce be patient

4. Lettuce really love one another

___

NO GARDEN IS COMPLETE WITHOUT TURNIPS

1. Turnip for meetings

2. Turnip for church services

3. Turnip to help one another

___

TO CONCLUDE OUR GARDEN YOU MUST HAVE THYME

1. Thyme for God

2. Thyme for each other

3. Thyme for family

4. Thyme for friends

___

WATER FREELY WITH PATIENCE AND CULTIVATE THE FRUIT OF THE VINE WITH LOVE!

___


“Instead of the thorn shall come up the cypress;
instead of the brier shall come up the myrtle;
and it shall be to the Lord for a memorial,
for an everlasting sign that shall not be cut off.”

Isaiah 55: 13 (KJV)

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

This Copyright applies only to my original thoughts contained herein.

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

