Thought For The Day 06/26/13

Standard

“God Bless The Broken Road”

___

broken-road

___

Musick has Charms to sooth a savage Breast,
To soften Rocks, or bend a knotted Oak.
I’ve read, that things inanimate have mov’d,
And, as with living Souls, have been inform’d,
By Magick Numbers and persuasive Sound.
What then am I? Am I more senseless grown
Than Trees, or Flint? O force of constant Woe!
‘Tis not in Harmony to calm my Griefs.
Anselmo sleeps, and is at Peace; last Night
The silent Tomb receiv’d the good Old King;
He and his Sorrows now are safely lodg’d
Within its cold, but hospitable Bosom.
Why am not I at Peace?

 William Congreve

 The Mourning Bride, 1697

___

God Bless the Broken Road is another of the many songs of today that pass between the realm of love songs and songs of faith, which, when you really think about it, are in and of themselves love songs to God, anyway! Marcus Hummon co wrote the piece with Bobby Boyd, and with Jeff Hanna of the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band. It was that groups release of it in 1994 that became its first. However, the song did not achieve true notoriety until after being re-recorded by other stars, including Carrie Underwood (American Idol winner, Country and Gospel music star, Vegan and actively practicing Christian, whose rendition appears below) and, most notably, Rascal Flatts, whose version propelled in to the number 1 spot on Billboard-Country music charts in 2005, where it earned a Grammy Award for its writing team. The contemporary Christian music band, Selah, released it in 2006 where it rose to number 5 on the Hot Christian Song charts.

___

Music has, and most likely always will, play such a huge role in the way we not just practice faith, but in the way we celebrate the bounty of blessings He bestows unto us. We lauded His birth with a heavenly chorus of angels singing Hallelujah! We celebrate His second coming with songs of praise during Easter. We know that some of God’s greatest victories in the Bible, such as the tumbling walls of Jericho, were preceded by the sounding of Ram’s horns. And even His most beloved leaders were so taken by song that there is an entire book of the Bible, that resonates with praise to Him and celebrating that praise by song! Psalm 98:4 NIV, “Shout for joy to the LORD, all the earth, burst into jubilant song with music…” And whether you can find a measure of comfort in the lyrics of the song I am sharing today or not, make sure to take a moment every day to sing your praises to Him for all of the blessings He has given to you. It may seem like a small thing to do, but I promise you it is not. It’s measure is felt so much more to God than you can possibly imagine!

___

“God Bless The Broken Road”

Marcus Hummon, Bobby Boyd and Jeff Hanna

I set out on a narrow way many years ago
Hoping I would find true love along the broken road
But I got lost a time or two
Wiped my brow and kept pushing through
I couldn’t see how every sign pointed straight to you

[Chorus:]
Every long lost dream led me to where you are
Others who broke my heart they were like Northern stars
Pointing me on my way into your loving arms
This much I know is true
That God blessed the broken road
That led me straight to you
(Yes He did)

I think about the years I spent just passing through
I’d like to have the time I lost and give it back to you
But you just smile and take my hand
You’ve been there you understand
It’s all part of a grander plan that is coming true.

[Chorus]
Every long lost dream led me to where you are
Others who broke my heart they were like Northern stars
Pointing me on my way into your loving arms
This much I know is true
That God blessed the broken road
That led me straight to you
(Yes He did)

Yeah.

Now I’m just rolling home
Into my lover’s arms
This much I know is true
That God blessed the broken road
That led me straight to you.

That God blessed the broken road
That led me straight to you.

___

___

 “Sing for joy, you heavens, for the LORD has done this; shout aloud, you earth beneath. Burst into song, you mountains, you forests and all your trees, for the LORD has redeemed Jacob, he displays his glory in Israel.”

Isaiah 12:41-23, NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

