Thought For The Day 06/29/13

Standard

Home Sweet Homecoming

___

home sweet home

My Home sweet Home in SC

___

“Every traveler has a home of his own, and he learns to appreciate it the more from his wandering.”

Charles Dickens

http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/homecoming

___

Is there a place for you where the very thought of it sings to you in both your waking and your dreaming moments? You know the kind of place I mean. When you are there, you feel all warm and fuzzy…..and safe…..as if you were wrapped in a cocoon or your softest pajamas! I know that when I was a little girl, that place was my paternal grandparents home. Not because I did not love my very own room in my very own house with my parents. No, it was because when I was with my grandparents, they were ever the doting and loving people every child dreams of. I was the center of their universe when I was there and they showed me this care with every single thing they gave me, whether it was my favorite dinner, or a hug and they showed me the same thing with all that they did with me, whether it was simply a car ride to see the sights or a trip to the beach! And there was something else too. I knew that when I saw something new and exciting when I was with them, it was as if they were seeing it for the very first time with me, through me and because of me!

___

As I’ve gotten older, that “Home Sweet Home” that played notes on my heart-strings, became where I live now! You see, this was the place where Dan and I came to decompress every year (sometimes more than once a year) and so when we drove into town, and as we would pass the sign that says, “Welcome to Myrtle Beach”, simultaneously, we would say, “Honey, I’m home!” And I am happy here. It is the place of some of my greatest joys now that I am lucky enough to be able to see the world through my own pair of baby blues which sit under a mop of the most beautiful red hair imaginable.

___

Landon 05 2013

___

And yet, there is increasingly, another place that sings to me, and I suspect that getting older accounts for that song which resonates in my heart! Of course you all know where of I speak now. And because it is a reality that we all must prepare for from our first breath, rather than fear the unknown that it brings, perhaps now is the time to really think about it and get to know more about the promises that will be ours to have by that homecoming. Going home when my living is completed, and coming home to my Lord and Savior’s side!  Now the Bible does not really promise us Heaven in the sense of a place as much as it does, the eternal life we will share with Him. You see, just as He changed following his death, resurrection and ascension, so will we be changed. We will be changed from mortal to immortal. This change for us from mortal to immortal also changes us from “flesh and blood” to incorruption”. In 1 Corinthians 15:50-53 NIV, Paul tells us, “I declare to you, brothers and sisters, that flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God, nor does the perishable inherit the imperishable. Listen, I tell you a mystery: We will not all sleep, but we will all be changed in a flash, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will be changed. For the perishable must clothe itself with the imperishable, and the mortal with immortality.”

___

Now I don’t know about you, but I just love that word, homecoming! It is a frequently used word here in my neck of the woods these days. And while it reminds me that this is the place I have chosen to live my golden years with the man that I love, it also reminds me of something else. You see, here in the south, it is often used in the final biography most people will read about our lives. And it never fails to tickle my fancy when I read the word homecoming used in some of the obituaries I find in my local newspaper. But I think that is because I know that these were the people that lived and breathed faith during their living moments here on Mother Earth. And as much as the tug on our heart-strings of the other places we call home while we live seems so right, in reality, it is only this one…..this LAST one…..that really matters!

___

“Jesus answered, “Very truly I tell you, no one can enter the kingdom of God unless they are born of water and the Spirit. Flesh gives birth to flesh, but the Spirit gives birth to spirit. You should not be surprised at my saying, ‘You must be born again.’ The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit.”

John 3:5-8 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

