Thought For The Day 07/04/13

Standard

Happy 4th Of July

___

Happy-4th-of-July

___

You have to love a nation that celebrates its independence every July 4, not with a parade of guns, tanks, and soldiers who file by the White House in a show of strength and muscle, but with family picnics where kids throw Frisbees, the potato salad gets iffy, and the flies die from happiness.  You may think you have overeaten, but it is patriotism.  

Erma Bombeck

http://www.quotegarden.com/fourth-of-july.html

___

Today marks a birthday for the country I call home, which is why today’s post has a patriotic slant to it. However, the thankfulness contained within the message is one that transcends borders and I hope, touches your heart, no matter where you hail from!

Mandy 

___

It seems to me that the phrase attributed to Woodrow Wilson, “the war to end all wars”, while idealistic and patriotic when first coined, has never been proven to be an accurate statement. Since its creation, mother Earth has existed in a perpetual state of turmoil.  Perhaps one of human kind’s greatest faults is the inability of man to gracefully accept being challenged, and most especially, to be told we are wrong.  We are reared with certain ideologies, impressed upon us by the individual culture into which we are born. Often these ideologies are taught to us as absolute truths….and in shades of black and white, and never any grays. And so, we react to the challenge, often violently, and before we know it, an armed conflict between people has been born.

___

I am a product of the Baby Boomer years as is my husband. (Actually, I like to remind Dan that he has been alive in 8 decades because I give him credit for the 48 days he was alive in 1949……hey, it counts as the 40’s!) And while I did fairly well in school, I could not remember the number of major armed conflicts we Americans have been involved in, both during my lifetime, and in the years since our country was founded, and so I decided to look for the information in my search engine. I also wanted to see, in black and white, the number of lives we sacrificed in those struggles. (Please note that in these statistics only major conflicts were included . For example, our military involvement in Bosnia is not detailed.) And what I discovered, the bottom line, shocked me. From The Revolutionary War to our current involvement in Iraq and Afghanistan (only through 12/13/10, which were the last statistics I could find) we have sacrificed 1.1 million men and women.

___

Total Casualties as of December 13, 2010

  Total Serving Battle Deaths Other Deaths Total Deaths Wounded Pct Killed
Revolutionary War   4,435   4,435 6,188 0
War of 1812 286,730 2,260   2,260 4,505 0.79%
Mexican War 78,718 1,733 11,550 13,283 4,152 16.87%
Civil War 2,213,363 140,414 224,097 364,511 281,881 16.47%
Spanish-American 306,760 385 2,061 2,446 1,662 0.80%
World War I 4,734,991 53,202 63,114 116,316 204,002 2.46%
World War II 16,112,566 291,557 113,842 405,399 670,846 2.52%
Korean War 5,720,000 33,746 3,249 36,995 103,284 0.65%
Vietnam War 8,744,000 47,355 10,796 58,151 153,303 0.67%
Desert Storm 2,225,000 147 235 382 467 0.02%
Enduring Freedom   1,099 318 1,417 9,675 0
Iraqi Freedom   3483 890 4,408 31,935 0
Totals   579,809 430,197 1,010,003 1,471,900

___

Every single drop of blood shed over the last 300 years was the sacrifice of true patriotic heroes. These men and women throughout history were called to arms to defend  those ideologies we have come to believe in and cherish. These men and women did not question the decisions of the politicians who enact laws and decide the conflicts worthy of our intervention, because it was not their place to do so. They left husbands, wives, parents, children, friends and neighbors behind to travel to far away lands. They were often exposed to the most inhospitable of climates and cultures. And still, they went, never questioning, for it was what they had agreed to the moment they took their oath of military service. And they, without hesitation, raised their arms and aimed their rifles at other men and women, and they sometimes pulled the trigger. And they lived with the consequences of doing their duty, because they were doing it for their husbands, wives, parents, children, friends and neighbors. And they did it because it had to be done, because of those ideologies we  have come to believe in and cherish. And I, for one, will be indebted to these men and women as long as I live!

___

The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he has anointed me to preach good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners and recovery of sight for the blind, to release the oppressed, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.

Luke 4:18-19 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

