Thought For The Day 07/06/13

Standard

Spirituality

___

spirituality

___

“The spiritual life does not remove us from the world but leads us deeper into it.”

Henri J. M. Nouwen

http://www.squidoo.com/quotes-life

___

How many have given much thought to SPIRITUALITY? Now before we go farther, I want to clarify exactly what I mean……and what I don’t mean. You see, I know there are many who see this word and their minds immediately begin to conjure up visions of long-lost relatives and of dreams of those who have passed on with some unfinished business for which they are seeking relief. And so they can move onto their final place of what I hope, is peace forever more, they return to tie up those loose ends which are their impediment to passing to and through the “light”!

___

Now I know that while there are many within the faith-based community whose belief in such things is as sacrosanct as is their faith in the Almighty, it is not the mystical or esoteric to which I am referring. No, for me, SPIRITUALITY is the search for that which is sacred and worthy of veneration (or of holding the deepest respect or reverence for). And while there are some who would vehemently disagree with me, it is this single thing that, to my mind, ties the many faiths of the world together. After all, it is the eternal optimist in me that hopes that a loving God would redeem ALL living beings, and not just Christians!

___

Yes, I know that this may not be a popular statement to make. I also know that many sharing this post, feel that it is only through an acceptance of Christ as our personal Lord and Savior, that we are promised Salvation, and since I am a Christian, that is where my allegiance is the most closely tied, as well. However, that being said, I do not see Satan lurking in the dark recesses of every faith that is non-Christian, either!

___

Now I really hesitate to use the terms religion and SPIRITUALITY interchangeably since we all know that there are some people with a strong sense of SPIRITUALITY who are not religious and we also know that there can exist people who are deeply religious, who lack true SPIRITUALITY. Which is why not everyone holds that the two are linked as closely as I tend to link them.  You see, from my perspective, the two are linked far more intimately that we might think and if we can not find the both in everyone, it is either because they are somehow preventing its integration into their lives, or else the rest of us are not looking quite as closely as perhaps we should be, at the heart and mind of our brothers and sisters!

___

Yes, I believe that true SPIRITUALITY involves trusting completely and absolutely with and in, the One who created us, whoever we believe that to be. For me, I abide by what I am told in the Bible. Look at Proverbs 3:5 ISV which tells us to “Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and do not depend on your own understanding.” This explains much in just a few words, why faith as we know it, is not bound by rules and it certainly is not attained by any human worthiness. No…..it is all about what God (the One I believe created me), offers to each of us. And I believe He offers a mutually beneficial relationship with each man, woman and child alive, that transcends even life, as we know it! And as someone that accepts and believes in that with my whole heart, it is also the thing that best defines SPIRITUALITY, as I understand  it to exist. How about you?  Does SPIRITUALITY mean something entirely different, to you?

___

30 The LORD your God, who is going before you, will fight for you, as he did for you in Egypt, before your very eyes, 31 and in the desert. There you saw how the LORD your God carried you, as a father carries his son, all the way you went until you reached this place.” 32 In spite of this, you did not trust in the LORD your God, 33 who went ahead of you on your journey, in fire by night and in a cloud by day, to search out places for you to camp and to show you the way you should go.

Deuteronomy 1:30-33 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

