Thought For The Day 07/9/13

Standard

Change

___

change

http://www.unc.edu/tlim/sakai_pilot_blog/w

___

“We can’t be afraid of change. You may feel very secure in the pond that you are in, but if you never venture out of it, you will never know that there is such a thing as an ocean, a sea. Holding onto something that is good for you now, may be the very reason why you don’t have something better.”

C Joy Bell C

http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/growing

___

I have always been a fairly gifted storyteller. Even in High School, it was pretty clear that I was not going to be a strong a right hemisphere of the brain thinker. You only needed to see me for 30 seconds in Geometry class to know that! But left hemisphere thinking, complete with the speech and language components that are a part of this thinking, was always my strong suit. This is the reason why you have started following and, I hope, enjoying, my posts every day.

___

The thing is that even when we identify some talent where we excel, we are always continually evolving! And I am not talking about evolution, as much as I am progression. After all, are we not the human part of God? Did He not create us in His image? Is not our very essence, one of His perfect love? And is it not an integral component that we have an innate need to grow, mature. spread our wings and FLY?

___

It is God’s love that starts our feet on the road and it is our love of God that causes us to want grow into the best person we can be! But exactly how much difference can 2 1/2 years make? Well, you be the judge. And while you are at it, think about your own life. Think about where you were 2 1/2 years ago and then think about where you want to be 2 1/2 years from today! What is it that God will see when he looks into your heart and into your mind then? Will you be proud of the you…His perfect creation…that He sees then?

___

Thought For The Day 03/25/11

(My First Post)

I like the idea of posting a thought for the day. Not only does it require us to spend some time in quiet contemplation but then encourages us to give our thoughts and feelings a voice. Somehow, even a few minutes of introspection does wonders for giving one a fresh perspective of the issue being questioned and can go far in turning confusion and inaction into a clear and definitive solution. Or perhaps it’s just God leaning over our shoulder and whispering the answer in our ear when we’re finally ready, willing and able to understand it!

___

Thought For The Day 07/8/13

(Yesterday’s Post)

I know what the Bible tells me I must do when someone attacks me. In fact, the words that direct us to love our enemies are contained more than once within its pages. Luke 6: 27-29 NIV, says it the best I think! “But I say to you which hear, Love your enemies, do good to them which hate you, Bless them that curse you, and pray for them which spitefully use you. And to him that smites you on the one cheek offer also the other; and him that takes away your cloak forbid not to take your coat also.” But it seems to be more difficult with each passing day, to discover any redeeming value in some things that are an accepted part of faith in our world! For example, consider the Islamic faith….or more specifically, those who are the followers of extremist Islam! As we seek to understand why so much violence exists among those whose hearts embrace this extremist sect, consider exactly what it is the rest of us see, when we look at and read about this religion!

___

Just yesterday morning, as I read my Sunday paper over my first cup of coffee, 2 separate articles jumped out at me in the “Across the Globe” section. The first, was about a bomb detonating near the popular Anarkali bazar in the Punjab province of Lahore, Pakistan. Scores of innocent men, women and (dear God help us) children, were killed or wounded. And while, as yet, there has been no claim of responsibility, it has been blamed on Islamic militant activities, which are pervasive in the region! The second article was even more heinous, and its victims were almost all, those who are our greatest blessings….our children. In Potiskim, Nigeria, a boarding school containing young students (some not yet teenagers), was attacked by Islamic militants. 29 students and 1 teacher were killed….some of them burned alive. And honestly, seeing these things is an everyday occurrence. Why is it that this behavior, which only serves to diminish the perception of Islam, in the eyes of the rest of the world, has become more the rule than the exception?

___

While I was struggling to come up with an answer to this question….an answer that actually made sense to me….I suddenly realized something. It is not up to me to really understand why these things happen. What IS my role is to try to be a voice of reason and of calm and of peace and of forgiveness, in a world that sees all too little of these four things. And while I can not prevent the horrors that occur everywhere in the world, I can prevent them in my own heart, and by extension, in my own community. No, I can not stop violence from happening everywhere but I can work toward propagating peaceful coexistence between those of varying cultures and faiths who share my words every day. And while it certainly is not the answer to all of the world’s problems or the violence we are witnessing everyday, it will have to be enough…..for now!

___

“For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you. We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives,[a] 10 so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, 11 being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience,”

Colossians 1:9-11 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

