Thought For The Day 07/12/13

Standard

Run Forrest Run

~

Stop Forrest Stop

___

Run Forrest Run

___

I started running away when I was five years old. It wasn’t until I was an adult that I realized what I really wanted was somebody to come after me when I was running away.

Willie Aames

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/running_away.html

___

This is a reprint of a blog I wrote on October 15th, 2011. That I share it today was inspired by a T-shirt that Landon wears and LOVES….and I washed just yesterday! On the front it says, “RUN FORREST RUN” and on the back it says “STOP FORREST STOP”! And suddenly I remembered the church sign that started it all…the inspiration for my post so long ago, and then I began hunting for it in the archives! So here it is….albeit, with a few minor edits. I hope you enjoy it as much today as I did when I first shared it nearly 2 years ago!

Mandy

___

A week or so ago Dan and I were taking Landon to daycare when we passed a small church. Now as you can imagine, churches are plentiful in the south…exactly the reason the south is called the Bible Belt! And just as most churches do today, this one had a catchy message on its front sign. However this particular message gave me pause and I haven’t been able to get it out of my mind since I saw it. Sunday’s sermon was to be, “The Parables of Forrest Gump”. Now upon thinking about it, what a brilliant way to pass along to worshipers a relevant life lesson which is exactly what a parable is. After all, was is not the parable that became some of Christ’s most famous (and most beloved) tools for sharing the word of His Father? Anyway, in this case, the message is probably one that will be well understood because of the character named in the title. “FORREST GUMP” … a movie which became a cultural icon and a classic for all time. I am sure there are few of you reading this, who haven’t seen it! And although there are many other movies that also could be used to share such principles as are found in the parable, it is because of the innocent nature of the character who is Forrest, that these lessons become even more profound! I thought I would examine some of the more poignant lessons that Forrest, in all his innocence and wisdom, passed along to the world.

___

  • Mama always said life was like a box a chocolates, you never know what you’re gonna get.

Why is it that we fixate of the surface qualities of people? We are drawn a bit more to the beautiful people in the world. The problem is that sometimes when you look deeper, you sometimes find a shallowness there that is not at all beautiful. But like Forrest, if you take the time to truly see people, and look within them closely, you will often be surprised by the inward beauty that you discover shining through.

  • Stupid is as stupid does.

How many truly bright people do we know that do stupid things? While I don’t consider myself intelligent, I have certainly been known to do my share of stupid things too. The bottom line here is that no matter how bright a person is, if they do stupid things then they are stupid. You are what you do. The question is are you learning from those stupid things?

  • I’m not a smart man, but I know what love is.

Love by its definition is a profoundly tender, passionate affection for another person. No where does it say that love is felt only by some. To share human love with another is one of the greatest gifts given to man by God. And it is a gift given to us all equally. Now it’s how each of us uses that gift that makes all the difference!

  • You’ve always got to put the past behind you before you can move on.

We all have a past. For some of us, that past may be not only painful but unfair as well. But the fact of the matter is that some of us hold onto and internalize issues from the past. But all this succeeds in doing is weighing us down and keeps us from learning from that past and growing to become a better person in the future. Release those cares and turn them over to God. Let him share the burden and you will feel physical, mental and emotional relief to your inner core.

  • “What’s my destiny, Mama?” Mrs Gump answers, “You’re just gonna have to figure that out for yourself.”

Once you know who you are and whose you are, you will find it easier to discover your God-given destiny. Take the time to find out what a successful life means to you by focusing on the attributes you already possess. Believe anything is possible with hard work, passion, a lot of perseverance and a faith that you are never alone in this journey!

___

“For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.”

Galatians 1:10 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

