Thought For The Day 07/18/13

Standard

The Tree House Of God’s Love

___

tree house

___

Oh the comfort, the inexpressible comfort of feeling safe with a person, having neither to weigh thoughts nor measure words, but pouring them all right out, just as they are — chaff and grain together — certain that a faithful hand will take and sift them, keep what is worth keeping, and with the breath of kindness blow the rest away 

Dinah Mulock

http://quotationsbook.com/quote/7130/#sthash.JG8IsmvY.dpbs

___

I am sharing words that come from another person today….something I try to avoid whenever I can. However, I read this short story yesterday and I knew its message was something all of us needed to hear….especially since it begins with a caveat which is always worth remembering. Never mix metaphors…..well, at least TRY not to, unless you are trying to make a point about faith and our heavenly Father!
___
Now what is a metaphor, you ask? Well, a metaphor is an analogy or a description of something. Mixing metaphors comes about by asserting that, a comparison of two differing things, ties the two unrelated objects together!  For example, think of these words by Shakespeare from “AS YOU LIKE IT”“All the world’s a stage, And all the men and women merely players; They have their exits and their entrances…”
___
Now we know that the world is not a stage, but by comparing the world and a stage in this way, Shakespeare is telling us how things work and how the lives of the people are impacted by the world!  But sometimes, when you mix those same metaphors (generally a NO, NO for writing, by the way, although I have been found guilty of this pardonable sin a time or two), you can create a bizarre comparison, such as this quote: “This thorn in my side has finally bitten the dust”
___
So now that you are totally confused, I am going to turn your reading over to another, who will have the concept of mixing metaphors make perfect sense, by the time you are done! The Rev. Dr. Mark D. Roberts is a pastor, author, retreat leader, speaker, and blogger. Since October 2007 he has been the Senior Director and Scholar-in-Residence for “Laity Lodge“, a multifaceted ministry in the Hill Country of Texas. The “devotional” I am sharing came from an article found in “The High Calling”, to which I subscribe!
___
Living in the Tree House of God’s Love
by Mark D. Roberts
___
I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. (Ephesians 3:17 NIV)
 
When I was in school, I was taught to avoid mixed metaphors. A mixed metaphor combines two metaphors in a way that really doesn’t make sense. For example, I once saw a church sign that read: “The Solid Rock Church: A Church Aflame.” Talk about a mixed metaphor! Solid rocks tend not to burn (except, I suppose, in the case of molten lava.)
 
In Ephesians 3:17, we find another mixed metaphor: “And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love. . . .” The translators of the NIV have tidied up the mixed metaphor, which is more obvious in the original Greek, which reads more literally, “being rooted and founded in love.” The first participle (errizomenoi) is an agricultural metaphor, based on the Greek word for root (riza). The second participle is an architectural metaphor (tethemeliomenoi), based on the word for foundation (themelios). Thus, in the mixed metaphor of Ephesians 3:17, we are to be connected to and based upon the love of Christ, as a tree is anchored through its roots and as a building rests upon its foundation.
 
As I meditated upon this mixed metaphor, I was transported back to a happy time in my boyhood. I was sitting cozily in my friend’s tree house, which was in a literal sense both “rooted and founded.” The roots of the tree also connected the tree house to the ground, serving as its foundation.
 
As I sat in that tree house, I felt safe and secure. It was well-built (by my friend’s father) and trustworthy. Similarly, when we are founded on God’s love, we also feel safe and secure. We know that the basis of our life is faithful and sure. It won’t crumble away or become unreliable.
 
But, in that tree house, I also felt adventurous. I wasn’t just sitting on the boring, familiar ground. I was up in a tree, living the life of Tarzan or Swiss Family Robinson. Likewise, as we are rooted to God’s love, we don’t just bask in our security. Rather, we are encouraged to follow the adventure of serving God, to take risks, to live boldly as we seek to walk in the good works God has planned for us so that we might exist for the praise of his glory.
___
Talk about a powerful concept. I can honestly say that somewhere, deep within, even when I chose not to acknowledge Him openly, there was not a single moment when I was not “rooted” in His love. You see, even when I did not have faith in Him, He ALWAYS had faith that I would become the person He knew I was capable of becoming! And that is a wondrous thing, indeed and a lesson we should remember…..ALWAYS!

___

“But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord..”

Romans 8:37-39 NASB

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

This Copyright applies only to the portions contained herein that are my words.

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

