Thought For The Day 07/26/13

Standard

Keep Your Fork

___

holding a fork

___

Always remember your present situation is not your final destination…The best is yet to come.

Author Unknown

http://www.searchquotes.com/search/Best_Is_Yet_To_Come/

___

Dan and I have some friends that we met through the internet. In fact, we became connected with them and some others through an internet Chat Room, as surprising as that may seem. And over the years, we have all gotten together on a fairly regular basis! For a few years, Dan and I even organized a get-together for 40 or so of our group, right here in Myrtle Beach (South Carolina), where we live.

___

There was one couple we met, as part of this group, that we remain tied to even today, and not for the reason you might think. You see, one of our four-legged children, our dog Skittles, was adopted from them after their Cock-a-poo female escaped from the yard and had a tryst with a neighborhood Labrador Retriever “Lothario”! And while we do not see this couple very often, I think of them and I thank them for this gift, every time I look into those dark eyes that follow me everywhere I go!

___

Dan and I received rather sad news this week about our friend. Although he and his wife are about 10 years younger than we are, he was a heavy smoker from his teen age years, and this addiction finally caught up with him. They received the news on Wednesday…..stage 4 Lung Cancer. And while there are comfort measures that can be employed, there are no further curative measures available.

___

I suppose they were, perhaps prepared for this news, but to share it with their children, both very young, and older, was all that was left to be done…..except, that is, to spend quality time together as a family, which will be both poignant and bittersweet, I suppose. But there is another thing that our friends have going for them. They have a deep and abiding faith in God and the power of prayer.

___

They know as absolutely as I do that prayer can right wrongs and create miracles out of despair. But they also know sometimes His answer is not what man hopes for and if that happens, they know something else that is wonderful! You see, they know that if you trust and put your life in His hands, whether you get the miracle or not, that the best is still, yet to come. And it is this thought that brought me back to some words I have shared in the past, but are worth reading over and over. The author who put them to paper may be unknown, but the true creator of their message, is not!

___

Keep Your Fork

Author Unknown

There was once a young woman, stricken with cancer who was endeavoring to put her affairs in order. She asked her pastor to stop by to visit so that she could make sure he knew exactly what her wishes were for her funeral service. She had carefully and meticulously selected the music she wished played and the Bible verses she wanted included. Her wishes all documented, the pastor was about to leave when she stopped him.

“I have one more wish and it’s the most important one. I want you to make sure that I am buried with a fork in my hand!”

Now the pastor didn’t quite know what to make of this curious request and stood for a moment in silence. Suddenly a radiance came over the young woman as she endeavored to explain her wish.

“My grandmother told me a story that I have continued to pass along to others during my life. We always attended many events and potluck suppers and once we were done eating our entrée, someone would lean over and whisper to us, ‘Keep your Fork’. This was always my favorite part because I knew something wonderful was coming next….like chocolate cake, or deep dish apple pie. Such wonderful things and all full of substance and love. So when people pass by me in my casket, I want them to know that I’ve kept my fork. I want them to know that the best is yet to come!”

The young woman had many mourners and each and every one, with the exception of her immediate family could not stop talking about the fork that was in her hand. And the entire time, the pastor just stood there and smiled a knowing smile. Soon it was time for him to address those gathered and he told them about the conversation they had shared before the young woman died. The pastor told them that from the moment of hearing this story he could not stop thinking about that fork and that he doubted that they would ever forget the story or the fork either….and now, neither will you! Every time you reach down to pick up your fork, may you be reminded in this simple but profound way, that the best is yet to come!

___

And they sang a new song, saying, “Worthy are you to take the scroll and to open its seals, for you were slain, and by your blood you ransomed people for God from every tribe and language and people and nation, and you have made them a kingdom and priests to our God, and they shall reign on the earth.” Then I looked, and I heard around the throne and the living creatures and the elders the voice of many angels, numbering myriads of myriads and thousands of thousands, saying with a loud voice, “Worthy is the Lamb who was slain, to receive power and wealth and wisdom and might and honor and glory and blessing!” And I heard every creature in heaven and on earth and under the earth and in the sea, and all that is in them, saying, “To him who sits on the throne and to the Lamb be blessing and honor and glory and might forever and ever!”

Revelation 5:9-13 KJV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

