Thought For The Day 08/09/13

Standard

The Gifts That Matter

___

Mommy and me

___

God gave us the gift of life; it is up to us to give ourselves the gift of living well.

Voltaire

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/topics/topic_birthday.html

___

Six decades ago today…..actually right in time for breakfast time, as a matter of fact…..was the moment I first drew breath! And while I do not know if I emerged into the world screaming, I do know that once I began talking, I never stopped!

___

Now one thing most of us tend to think about as we celebrate another revolution around the sun, is what treasure we will find wrapped under a layer of paper and festooned with colorful ribbons which we will open right after we blow out our candles. But the older I become, the less important those tangibles become. As a matter of fact, the older I become, the less important the day becomes. You see. I have nearly every tangible I need which is why it is those intangibles in my life that I cherish all the more! And you want to know something? Because it is so hard to place a value on things like love, security and happiness, they become priceless to us!

___

Now I do not know if Jesus and His earthly family ever celebrated His birthday, but what I do know is that He also prized the intangibles in His life above things. He prized the love of God, His Father, and the love of His followers was more precious that jewels to Him! And even what our Lord asks of us is simply US! Our hearts, our minds and our love….exactly the things that matter so much to me these days!

___

What does God say the value of the wisdom of these intangibles is? Job 28: 12-17 “But where can wisdom be found? Where does understanding dwell? No mortal comprehends its worth; it cannot be found in the land of the living. The deep says, “It is not in me”; the sea says, “It is not with me.” It cannot be bought with the finest gold, nor can its price be weighed out in silver. It cannot be bought with the gold of Ophir, with precious onyx or lapis lazuli. Neither gold nor crystal can compare with it, nor can it be had for jewels of gold.”

___

“For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God not of works, lest any man should boast.” 

Ephesians 2:8-9 KJV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

