Thought For The Day 08/12/13

Standard

Mixed Nuts!

___

http://www.123rf.com/photo_13165419_varieties-of-nuts-peanuts-hazelnuts-chestnuts-walnuts–pistachio-and-others.html

___

If you have an apple and I have an apple and we exchange these apples then you and I will still each have one apple.  But if you have an idea and I have an
idea and we exchange these ideas, then each of us will have two ideas. 

George Bernard Shaw

http://www.quotegarden.com/ideas.html

___

You may remember me mentioning a couple of days ago that my family is visiting. Now I do not see my brother Hal, his wife Marie and my niece Christina nearly as much as I should, so I am planning to seize this opportunity to re forge those bonds that unite us, but which have become a bit tattered from the strain distance has placed on them . So I hope you will forgive me if I re-share a few of my favorite posts from months past. But rest assured that some new thoughts will be coming your way again….before you know it!

Mandy

___

Mixed Nuts 10/19/12

 

I was thinking about all of the blogs I have written since that very first post of mine published on March 25th, 2011, and I began to wonder whether any of them contained some of those profound one-liners like you see on those catchy church signs or bumper stickers. You know what I mean. I’m talking about things like the title of that 1945 movie starring Dennis Morgan and Raymond Massey, “God Is My Co-Pilot”. And so I decided to scan through the pages that have somehow become transformed from thought to idea to blog to see whether I could find a few gems to re-share with you. I was aiming for those one sentence pearls of wisdom and pretty much succeeded with a few exceptions, which I also included. Now there were many that I glossed over but these were a few that caught my eye as I was perusing all of my 578 blogs! Included is a new one I created especially for today based on a snippet from a post of mine from just a couple of days ago. I decided to alternate my words with a few of my favorite of those bumper stickers we have all seen in front of us at the neighborhood stop light, and all of those all come from a web site I found called “Christian Bumper Stickers” (http://www.ruighaver.net/bumperstickers/christian.htm ).

___

 We forget to just enjoy….enjoy the fellowship of others, the beauty in the world and the sheer joy of play.

Mandy

04/12/11

~

America needs a Faith Lift!

Christian Bumper Sticker

~

Is the inner fever I feel really a burning from being struck by an issue of faith and God speaking to my soul or is it hot flashes?

Mandy

04/13/11

~

Forbidden Fruits create many Jams!

Christian Bumper Sticker

~

We wear our blinders and our N.I.M.B.Y. (not in my back yard) faces and choose to…ignore the anguish of a…human being.

Mandy

05/12/11

~

A house is not a home without me — God.

Christian Bumper Sticker

~

When did I become best friends with so many doctors? I can tell you if they’re married, how many kids they have and their office addresses are on my Christmas card list.

Mandy

05/31/11

~

Before Sunday football why not come to my house — God.

Christian Bumper Sticker

~

Now one thing I can state with certainty is that you never find/use “IT” without three basic fundamental steps:

a) searching for “IT  b) discovering how to use “IT  c) practicing “IT”.

Mandy

06/10/11

~

God loves you whether you like it or not!

Christian Bumper Sticker

~

Now my family is about as “White bread” as they come while Dan’s is pure “Semolina (Italian bread)”!

Mandy

06/16/11

~

Believe those who seek the Truth. Doubt those who find it!

Christian Bumper Sticker

~

 ….for clergy, conveying God’s word is not all “moon-light and canoes”….

Mandy

07/30/11

~

God’s last name is not dammit!

Christian Bumper Sticker

~

 …I told her (Sabrina, my daughter) that she would see him (our cat) again one day in heaven. Looking at me as if I had lost my mind, Sabrina replied back, “Yes, mommy but I’m only 5. I’m not going to see heaven for a very long time!”

Mandy

08/21/11

~

CAUTION! God At Work! Person In Progress!

Christian Bumper Sticker

~

Always remember that the common sense of a thing does not always make that thing right or desirable!

Mandy

09/24/11

~

For all you do, His blood’s for you!

Christian Bumper Sticker

~

I wish I had the pope on speed dial because if he managed to get me on the air, we would all be seeing a miracle in South Carolina…

Mandy

11/06/11

~

Don’t blame God for the things that people do.

Christian Bumper Sticker

~

(Aah) the music of the ice cream truck which drives every parent on the face of the earth crazy at the same time it causes the Pavlovian drooling response in children, begin its rounds throughout your neighborhood just as the sun winks below the horizon…

Mandy

04/30/12

~

CAUTION! Non-exposure to the Son will cause burning.

Christian Bumper Sticker

~

Now life is like a beautiful waltz…a delicately choreographed movement meant to perfectly compliment the person you are dancing with. Unfortunately I am a child of the “frug” and “watusi” and “mashed potato” era.

Mandy

10/10/12

~

Even Darwin KNOWS God created earth (now).

Christian Bumper Sticker

~

But my very first thought was….OK, my first thought was “if only you were my kid”! But my second thought was, what has happened to good old-fashioned common courtesy?

Mandy

10/11/12

~

The way I drive, I’ve gotta have Faith!

Christian Bumper Sticker

~

Faith is like a football team. While some players are Linebackers (Protestants) and others are Wide Receivers (Catholic), the goal is still to get the ball into the end zone (Heaven)!

Mandy

10/17/12

~

Don’t leave without life support!

Christian Bumper Sticker

~

On Judgement Day, will you pass through the “Pearly Gates” or will you be sent packing to a warmer climate for all eternity?

Mandy

10/19/12

___

God’s One Liners!

~

1 John 4:9-10

We love Him because He first loved us.

~

Psalm 34:19

A righteous man may have many troubles, but the LORD delivers him from them all;

~

 Proverbs 2:7

He holds victory in store for the upright, he is a shield to those whose walk is blameless.

~

Psalm 5:12

For surely, O LORD, you bless the righteous; you surround them with your favor as with a shield.

~

Psalm 9:9

The LORD is a refuge for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble.

~

Hebrews 10:24

And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds.

~

Lamentations 3:25

The LORD is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him;

~

Psalm 16:11

You have made known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

~

Proverbs 16:3

Commit to the LORD whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.

___

For this reason I bow my knees before the Father, from whom every family in heaven and on earth is named

Ephesians 3:14-15 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

