Thought For The Day 08/16/13

Standard

How Do We Pray?

___

man_praying

___

“Prayer is not asking. It is a longing of the soul. It is daily admission of one’s weakness. It is better in prayer to have a heart without words than words without a heart.”

Mahatma Gandhi

http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/prayer

___

Today’s post was another one written only 5 months after the moment in 2011 when my life changed forever. And while I was perhaps better prepared for the wonders that would occur in my life as a result of this transformation, since I was reared in a family that taught its children the fundamentals of faith and prayer, it was still necessary that I learn how to apply those fundamentals to the life I lead as an adult in this world. This is the message I sought to convey in this piece that I wrote on August 16th, 2011…..exactly 2 years ago!

Mandy

___

Even though God knows all that there is about us and the things we hold in our hearts, sometimes He needs to hear the words spoken from our own lips. And often the way we choose to offer those prayers is as different and as personal and as unique as we are different and unique from every other person in the world. Whether your prayer “style” is devotional, which often uses meaningful Bible passages to begin your talk with God; or spontaneous, which occurs almost without thinking, such as a prayer of thanksgiving; or conversational, much like sitting quietly and having a talk with an old friend; or action, where it is your deeds which can be a prayer, such as doing a kind act for someone else; our prayers are uniquely ours!

___

Somehow in thinking about all the types of prayer that exists (thanksgiving, confession, supplication, intercession, praise) my very favorite one and the one I believe is most pleasing to God, is the prayer of praise. And I am not alone in this view, because an entire book of the Bible, the book of Psalms, was written about and is devoted to just this very thing. And somehow, the fact that man wrote so many (150) songs of prayer devoted to praising Him and teaching us the importance of singing and rejoicing His praises should touch each heart in an intensely personal way!

___

I remember the very first songs of praise that I learned from this book of the Bible. In fact, it is these very same prayers that I learned by heart as a child….the 23rd Psalm and the 100th Psalm, which are the ones learned by most children who are raised in the Christian faith. And while I read the rest of them in later years, it is these two that have remained my very favorite ones. And somehow, their melody rings just a bit truer when recited in the traditional King James version. This is the way I sent Landon to bed last night….reciting Psalm 100 in his ear as I carried him to bed. He doesn’t yet appreciate the beauty of this…..but he will!

___

Psalm 100

1. Make a joyful noise unto the Lord, all ye lands. 2. Serve the Lord with gladness: come before his presence with singing. 3. Know ye that the Lord he is God: it is he that hath made us and not we ourselves; we are his people and the sheep of his pasture. 4. Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name. 5. For the Lord is good; his mercy is everlasting; and his truth endureth to all generations.

___

Who is this King of glory? The Lord, strong and mighty, the Lord, mighty in battle! Lift up your heads, O gates! And lift them up, O ancient doors, that the King of glory may come in. Who is this King of glory? The Lord of hosts, he is the King of glory! Selah

Psalm 24:8-10 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

