Thought For The Day 08/19/13

Standard

Why Are Millennials Leaving The Church?

___

millennials-360

___

Faith is not a sense, nor sight, nor reason, but taking God at His work.

Faith Evans

http://www.searchquotes.com/search/Questioning_Faith/

___

The other day I heard an intro to a segment on a national news station that made me sit up and take notice! You see, the segment was going to explore the reasons why Millennial’s are leaving the church. Now in case you don’t know what a Millennial is, don’t worry. I didn’t until I looked it up! Basically, Millennial’s are also known as Generation Y, or young adults today between the ages of 18 and 29. And it wasn’t until I knew WHO they were that I understood at least part of the discussion that took place.

___

Well, of course I tuned in to the interview which sought to identify the reasons so many young people are abandoning faith, and one conclusion was identified that I can not argue with! The Millennial generation is most certainly, the most technologically savvy of any generation in history. Case in point, this generation has never lived in a time when the internet and the information highway did not exist. They have never seen or heard news disseminated any way other than in color, and projected into their living room in real-time! And because of a level of sophistication that was not only unheard of but unthinkable when I was that age, these young adults have markedly different attitudes, beliefs, and mores than any other generation in history.

___

Now, the panel discussing this topic were polar opposites on matters of faith. And their explanations for why this was happening were just as varied. For example, Christian writer Rachel Held Evans saw faith today as being “… too political, too exclusive, old-fashioned, unconcerned with social justice and hostile to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people.” (a) And Atheist writer Hemant Mehta held that  “religion isn’t true” and that this generation is sophisticated enough to recognize a lie when they hear it! (b)

___

Regardless of which view you gravitate toward, the bottom line is that most people believe that traditional religious organizations have not evolved with the times and since the answers to the questions those Millennials are asking about why religions practice faith the same way today as they did nearly a century ago are not forthcoming as quickly as this “me” group would like, they are deciding that the answer to “it’s our way or the highway” is to get moving on down the road!

___

Now I hold strong beliefs about faith. And no, I do not practice my faith in the same traditional way that many of my generation do. However, that said, I also believe it is wrong to want to alter faith to either an extreme or a watered down version just to satisfy the whim of today’s young people.

___

While we want to appeal to many tastes, there are still components of faith that can not be sanitized  or explained in a way that will satisfy those people who are prone to want to question everything they experience. Doing this changes one basic belief that people of faith hold as absolute. God doesn’t want us to tailor faith to meet our needs. God wants us to tailor our faith to serve Him! That is why we call our worship of Him faith, to begin with. And this does not necessarily mean attending services every Sunday. You see, Church and Faith is not a place. Church and Faith is a state of mind and a quality of being.

___

(a)

http://religion.blogs.cnn.com/2013/07/27/why-millennials-are-leaving-the-church/comment-page-99/

(b)

http://www.patheos.com/blogs/friendlyatheist/2013/08/18/heres-the-cnn-segment-on-why-millennials-are-leaving-church/

___

13 The Lord says: “These people come near to me with their mouth and honor me with their lips,but their hearts are far from me. Their worship of me is made up only of rules taught by men. 14 Therefore once more I will astound these people with wonder upon wonder; the wisdom of the wise will perish, the intelligence of the intelligent will vanish.” 15 Woe to those who go to great depths to hide their plans from the LORD, who do their work in darkness and think, “Who sees us? Who will know?”

Isaiah 29:13-15 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

