Thought For The Day 08/23/13

Standard

Bent Out Of Shape?

___

ridding_ourselves_of_anger_OM_Times

___

Blessed are the flexible, for they shall not be bent out of shape.  

Michael McGriffy

http://quotationsbook.com/quote/46196/#sthash.c0uCHf4P.dpbs

___

I don’t know about you but I am one person that seems to have emotions that operate on a hair-trigger. In other words, it doesn’t take much for me to get bent out of shape! It is perhaps my least redeeming quality and it certainly tests my relationships with those who are closest to me. But, if there is one thing that I know for certain, it is that when something is bent out of shape, it’s functionality becomes moot! Need an example? Well, how about thinking about a soup ladle!

___

A soup ladle is perfectly designed for the function for which it is intended. But bend the scoop portion so that it sits at a at a 90 degree angle to the handle, and then dip it into the soup pot and see what happens! Yep…..you will be hard pressed to enjoy your delicious, homemade, cure-all for the common cold, bowl of Mother Nature’s Penicillin! Well, a human life is exactly the same way. When you become bent out of shape for one hour, you often ruin any hope you may have had for either a meaningful or profitable day! Then think about what might happen if you become bent out of shape for a week or a month. The possibilities are mind-boggling!

___

Now becoming bent out of shape is not a new concept. In fact, the Bible is rife with stories about people whose weaknesses cause them to become bent out of shape. In fact, anger is nearly epidemic within its pages. Think Cain, Moses, King David, Jonah and the other prophets. Even Jesus and the Lord God Himself became angry a time or two. But just as all of these men of faith learned a lesson as a result of their anger, so it is what we learn from these emotions and how we grow from the experience, that really matters.

___

Having trouble controlling those lips that have allowed a lie to escape? Well, remember the words written in James 3:1-5 ESV, “Not many of you should become teachers, my brothers, for you know that we who teach will be judged with greater strictness. 2 For we all stumble in many ways. And if anyone does not stumble in what he says, he is a perfect man, able also to bridle his whole body. 3 If we put bits into the mouths of horses so that they obey us, we guide their whole bodies as well. 4 Look at the ships also: though they are so large and are driven by strong winds, they are guided by a very small rudder wherever the will of the pilot directs. 5 So also the tongue is a small member, yet it boasts of great things.” Did you strive to hurt someone because they did not act in a way you hoped they would? Think about what is taught in Ephesians 4:31-32 ESV, “Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice. Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.”

___

Now I am the by no means the only one who has difficulty controlling their propensity to become bent out of shape. But the moment I do, I am reminded of the way anger changes my heart. In fact, I think this is God’s little nudge to remind me that my behavior is not pleasing to Him! That’s the great thing about faith and God’s promises to us. You see, even when I am not a very lovable person, He still loves me! And even more than that, He has blessed me with the tools of mind and heart to learn from those unlovable moments so that I might understand how to control those inevitable meltdowns that life and circumstance hands me.

___

No, I am not immune from experiencing moments when my self-control takes a hike. But then I remember Proverbs 19:11 NIV, “A man’s wisdom gives him patience; it is to his glory to overlook an offense…” and I know that while I am merely a work in progress, I am, indeed, making progress!

___

“My dear brothers, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, for man’s anger does not bring about the righteous life that God desires. Therefore, get rid of all moral filth and the evil that is so prevalent and humbly accept the word planted in you, which can save you.”


James 1:19-21 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

