Thought For The Day 08/31/13

Standard

Remade Treasures

___

garbageopen

___

We are not to throw away those things which can benefit our neighbor. Goods are called good because they can be used for good: they are instruments for good, in the hands of those who use them properly.

Clement of Alexandria

http://www.backyardwildlifehabitats.com/id119.html

___

I am perhaps the worst person on the face of the earth when it comes to recycling. Now part of the reason is that where I live now, recycling is voluntary, unlike where I came from up north, when our bi-weekly curbside recycling pickups meant I only needed to carry my “trash to treasure” recyclable’s 100 yards to the street in front of my house. But here, we have to gather our plastic, metal, glass and paper, and then we have to get into the car, and drive to the Solid Waste Authority recycling center. Now there are numerous locations throughout the county. In fact, there are several within a 5 mile radius of my house. But like so many things that we are challenged with in life, because recycling here requires effort, I often forget to gather all of these things that could be remade into another, worthwhile article. I guess you might just start calling me Mandy “Out Of Sight, Out Of Mind” Bruscella! Then suddenly, something happened that changed my perceptions of things!

___

Yesterday I turned on my TV in the morning, as I was stumbling in the general direction of my coffee pot. Now the particular channel that appeared was not the one I had been watching the night before. Could it have been God’s finger on the remote, or did the cat simply walk over the buttons? Anyway, what appeared right in front of my eyes was a show that focuses on repurposing those things we think are unusable pieces of junk, into beautiful creations of art that will be adorning the wall of a multi-million dollar property somewhere! And I began to wonder something. If I could be so obtuse in my mindset about recycling, what else am I really missing when I look at something……or someone?

___

Most of us strive to do all we can to improve the life we live. We educate ourselves and we ask questions because of our need to learn and understand everything we possibly can. After all, God endowed us with an insatiable appetite for knowledge. But sometimes in our search for the next, great thing to drop into our laps, we overlook the simple and often mundane things that are right in front of our eyes. And before we know it, what could have been something life transforming for us evaporates, like a puff of smoke! This is also true when it comes to matters of faith.

___

It is frequently the little things in our lives that serve to remind us of all of the little gifts God gives us every day. And yes, some of them are even one of God’s remade treasures! For example, think of that furry and rather unattractive caterpillar crawling on the screen of your sun porch. I do not know about where you live, but they are a staple every summer here in South Carolina. Any way, I had the best time sharing this small wonder with Landon this year, now that he is old enough to appreciate the miracle of life….in all its varied forms. Then I explained to him that soon, that caterpillar would be remade into a beautiful, colorful and delicate butterfly! Which all goes to prove that God is the ultimate at repurposing the wonders of our world.

___

Does he not clothe the naked branches of the trees with their green finery every Spring? Certainly this is an example of one of His remade treasures! Is His hand nor responsible for the bloom on the bush that would spring to life as a rose, complete with a fragrance that was prized by royalty throughout the ages? Another remade treasure by His hand! And what of the sinner that is all of us, who are transformed the moment we allow the miracle of God’s grace to enter our hearts? We fragile and sinful humans are, perhaps, His greatest remade treasure!

___

Think for a moment about the Bible verse from 1 Corinthians 1:27 NIV, which states, “But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong.” And remember how mighty is the hand of the one that can transform so many things…..AND PEOPLE…..that some see as trash, and create all of the treasures that are His gift to us in this world. Yes, some of them are small. but they are mighty! So should our gratitude to Him be any less?

___

By the way, I doubt I will ever look at those things I need to recycle, quite the same way!

___

For in him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things have been created through him and for him.

Colossians 1:16 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

