Thought For The Day 09/09/13

Standard

“God Is Dead….And We Have Killed Him”?

___

Nietzsche

___

___

“I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.”

C S Lewis

http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/faith

___

The world as we know it seems to be “going to Hell in a hand basket” these days. There seems to be a total disregard for making moral choices and acting in what would be considered to be an ethical manner, and this abomination is infecting not just people in general, but also those individuals whose job it is to govern them. Violent crimes are on the rise in our cities, but we really should not be surprised since our nations are no more immune from such behavior than are the individual citizens who dwell within their borders. Which makes me wonder if Friedrich Nietzsche, born the son of a Lutheran minister, but who somehow lost his faith, was far off the mark when he wrote, “God is dead. God remains dead. And we have killed him.” Why is it that we do the things we do?

___

We live our lives so focused on our obtaining the things we believe will benefit ourselves, that we forget that we are a part of the many and not just the one! And while the things that are of benefit to us do vary day by day, we are still driven toward choices that are often detrimental to the many, despite what we perceive is its benefit. And what is even worse is that so often we don’t care, which is why it seems as if society no longer requires a code of righteous morals to survive.

___

We have evolved beyond the limitations of our very humanness which was endowed by our creator at our making in the beginning. You see, once upon a time, we relied on the whole of our community of like beings for our safety and our survival, because the world was a dangerous place. And it was only by our banding together, that the odds for our survival increased. We ate, had shelter and lived in the relative security that our numbers afforded. However, today our world is still a dangerous place, despite the fact that most of our natural enemies among the creatures we live with are gone. Instead of our fearing the threat of the life form with four legs, today our natural enemy only has two!

___

Now I believe Nietzsche was right….up to a point….but for the wrong reason. You see, Nietzsche felt that as we evolved into a time when our understanding of our world moved beyond what those who wrote the Bible could ever imagine, that God could no longer be taken literally. And while I agree that as we have evolved, so has the nature of our faith. I see this as the strength of a very tangible God…..not His weakness, as Nietzsche did! No God is not dead but our embrace of Him might be!

___

God endowed us with a mind and a curiosity to test the world around us and to seek answers where once there were no questions! And while Nietzsche believed in a morality independent of theistic belief, I believe in a capacity for moral behavior because of our embrace of faith and God, which is why I have a hope for the future of mankind despite our best efforts to cut that future short through our own devices.

___

We are a race who is blessed with a tenacity to overcome those obstacles that threaten to trip us up. We can reason and choose…..and that means we can accept or reject those things we encounter or discover during our journey through life. Yes, man’s natural tendency is to dismiss those things which our gut tells us are wrong. Now I don’t know about you, but any time I listen to my gut as a guide in determining my actions and behaviors, I am just as sure as sure can be, that it is really God reminding me of what it is that I must do! And how can I be so certain of this? Because I exist.

___

I am a member of the thinking and reasoning beings living on the earth. And considering what a rarity that is among the millions of living creatures that inhabit our world, we have to be much more than chance! And when something can not be presumed to be the result of an accident, it is then safe to say that it must be part of some divine plan…..the mastermind of which must be greater than we are! And there is but one name that I associate with greatness like that. GOD!

___

I have seen something else under the sun:

The race is not to the swift or the battle to the strong, nor does food come to the wise or wealth to the brilliant or favor to the learned; but time and chance happen to them all.

Moreover, no one knows when their hour will come:

As fish are caught in a cruel net or birds are taken in a snare, so people are trapped by evil times that fall unexpectedly upon them.

Ecclesiastes 9:11-12 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

One response »

Leave a Reply

