Thought For The Day 09/16/13

Standard

In The Blink Of An Eye

___

Reflection in an eye of logo from Twitter

___

“In the blink of an eye, something happens by chance – when you least expect it – sets you on a course that you never planned, into a future you never imagined.”

Nicholas Sparks

“The Lucky One”

http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/591994-in-the-blink-of-an-eye-something-happens-by-chance

___

I was watching a professional football game yesterday when one of the players was injured during a play. I do not yet know the extent of the injury but I saw a replay of the hit. And yes, it looked like a very serious and potentially career ending injury. Then suddenly, the announcers began analyzing over and over as to whether or not the hit was a “dirty” one and I wanted to shout to the screen, “NO! It’s what life deals us!”

___

When you play a game that is as aggressive and brutal as is American Football, especially in an age where the average player weight runs 300 pounds (which is far more that the same average weight for players who competed in the 60’s), men will be injured. It is seldom an intentional act by the one who inflicted the injury. Nevertheless, catastrophic injuries take place.

___

A University of North Carolina study in 2000 found that there were 13 catastrophic injuries, which is relatively low, given the high number (1.8 million) of players who participate in organized football competitions  every year. But that said, between 1977 and 1998, 200 players suffered a permanent spinal cord injury and 66 suffered a permanent brain injury! (1) Which should serve as a wake up call to all of us that there are no guarantees in life. And whether or not we are prepared, the fact of the matter is that life is a roller coaster ride, where there is only one absolute….. we are all mortal, whether we are a 300 lb linebacker or an 8 lb newborn!

___

Now don’t think for a single moment that this means that I don’t look to my tomorrows. I do! After all, we all plan for our future every single day. When I grocery shop, I plan my meals for the rest of the week. You see, I have faith that I will see those days. But I also know that my tomorrow is not within my power to know which is why I choose to live in the present and make the most of every single thing I do! I will have no regrets. I will learn something about me even from navigating those potholes that line life’s road.

___

Think for a moment about The Apostle Peter. Now we know that Christ told his followers as they broke bread for what would be the last time, that one would deny and one would betray. Peter likely never dreamed that it would be he that his Master was describing. But when asked whether or not he knew Christ, Peter denied that he did three times! And yet, also remember one other thing. Christ identified that Peter (whose given name was Cephas which translates into the word rock) would be the rock upon which His church would be founded. Matthew 16: 18-19 NIV, “And I tell you that you are Peter, and on this rock I will build my church, and the gates of Hades will not overcome it. I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven; whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth will be loosed in heaven.” 

___

If the Father could forgive Peter when he asked, will that forgiveness be any less for me, if I ask it of Him? Absolutely not, which is why I will savor every beautiful nanosecond that I live….even the ones that are not completely pristine, because I know what is his promise to me and to you and to us all, who believe that He will forgive if we but atone. Yes, I believe!

___

(1) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Health_issues_in_American_football

___

He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation. For by him all things were created, in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities—all things were created through him and for him. And he is before all things, and in him all things hold together.  And he is the head of the body, the church. He is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead, that in everything he might be preeminent. For in him all the fullness of God was pleased to dwell, and through him to reconcile to himself all things, whether on earth or in heaven, making peace by the blood of his cross.

And you, who once were alienated and hostile in mind, doing evil deeds, he has now reconciled in his body of flesh by his death, in order to present you holy and blameless and above reproach before him…

Colossians 1:15-22 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

