Thought For The Day 09/20/13

Standard

Help Me Lord!

___

lphmtitleflyhelp me

___

Give me your help Lord, to live this one day. 

One knot to unravel;
One problem to weigh.

One path to discover
To choose the right turn.
One worry to conquer;
One lesson to learn.

One moment of gladness
To overcome pain.
One glimpse of the sunlight;
One touch of the rain.

No one can see into tomorrow;
Will our fate be joy or sorrow?

So I’ll turn to your love
And with perfect trust say,

“Give me your help Lord, to Live this one day.”

Written by: Martha G. Holloway

http://321greetings.com/inspirational/help-me-lord/#.UjtfXMaTiSo

___

There are people in this world that seem to have a firm grip on what they believe God’s will is for their lives. Well I have to jump up royally and tell you that I’m not one of them! And I suspect that the number of people who really do know His plan is far less that most of us think. You see, so many people think that the fact that they attend worship services every week and pray every day is enough to put them in His good graces. But knowing who God is and knowing God are two entirely different things. The difference is whether or not we live His will or simply pay it lip service!

___

Now what He expects of us is no great mystery. We only need open the pages of His word to discover what His principles for how we live our lives should be. As a matter of fact, there are ten verses in the first book of Thessalonians alone that give us a pretty good run down of some of them. (1 Thessalonians 5:12-22 ESV)

  • We ask you, brothers, to respect those who labor among you and are over you in the Lord and admonish you, and to esteem them very highly in love because of their work. 
  • Be at peace among yourselves.
  • And we urge you, brothers, admonish the idle, 
  • encourage the fainthearted, 
  • help the weak, 
  • be patient with them all.
  • See that no one repays anyone evil for evil,
  • but always seek to do good to one another and to everyone. 
  • Rejoice always, 
  • pray without ceasing, 
  • give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. 
  • Do not quench the Spirit.
  • Do not despise prophecies, but test everything;
  • hold fast what is good.
  • Abstain from every form of evil. 

And if you think that they stop here, you are sorely mistaken. While I can not tell you the exact number of times His will has been related throughout its pages, I suspect that they number many thousand throughout the 1189 chapters and approximately 31,103 verses in a Bible!

___

There is something else to remember, however. While God’s will for us is the same for every single person, His plan for our lives is not. Which is why my life’s path is so very different from yours. And while I know that He has directed every single step we each take, we do so with a spirit and heart that contains all of the information we need to live lives that are aligned with His will. And it is easy to measure our understanding of this by simply asking ourselves a few questions.

  • Is the way we are behaving and what we are doing pleasing to Him?
  • Would He affirm to us that what we are choosing to do is good?
  • Is what we are doing going to drive a wedge between our minds, our hearts and our faith?
  • Is what we do a good thing and will it benefit us or another person in some way?
  • At the end of the day, can we live with the consequences (both good and bad) of our actions?

___

When all is said and done. we still have a source to guide us as we travel through life. We can always turn to its pages when we become confused or we begin to doubt. And always remember that His guiding hand can always be felt, urging us in the right direction for our lives, if we only open our hearts enough, our minds enough and our faith enough, to feel His presence!

___

“I wait for your salvation, Lord, and I follow your commands. I obey your statutes, for I love them greatly. I obey your precepts and your statutes, for all my ways are known to you. May my cry come before you, Lord; give me understanding according to your word. May my supplication come before you; deliver me according to your promise. May my lips overflow with praise, for you teach me your decrees.”

Psalm 119:166-171 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

