Thought For The Day 10/07/13

Standard

Please And Thank You, God!

___

ThankGodDay1

___

If a fellow isn’t thankful for what he’s got, he isn’t likely to be thankful for what he’s going to get.

Frank A. Clark

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/be_thankful.html

___

It seems as if I must have reminded my grandson about a million times since he was old enough to understand the concept, of the importance of saying “Please” and “Thank You”! And I imagine I will most likely need to remind him at least a million more times before that surreal moment when I hear those words emerge from his lips, unprompted by me or another whose job it is to keep him alive and with at least a fundamental knowledge of proper etiquette,  until he reaches the age of maturity! After all, isn’t a modicum of gratitude the least we owe others when they do something good or kind for us? And then I realized something quite startling. We may well say those two “golden words” when dealing with the people in our lives, but how often…..if ever…..do we say them to the God of our life?

___

 The Bible says time and time again that we should praise and be thankful to Him. “Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits..” from Psalm 103:2 ESV, is a gentle reminder. “Praise the Lord! Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good, for his steadfast love endures forever! Who can utter the mighty deeds of the Lord, or declare all his praise?” from Psalm 106;1-2 ESV, is more an urging. And “Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice. Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” from Philippians 4:4-7 ESV, is akin to being hit over the head with a 2X4! But, the bottom line is that, unlike my million reminders to my grandson, we never should need these same tactics to remember giving Him our thanks! It should be as automatic to us as is our heartbeat to our life force!

___

He did not beg our approval to give us the beauty we see all around us in the world. He did not need urging from us to give us the gift of Salvation! And He did not expect our appreciation for His gift of the fruit of the spirit (manifestations of His power and presence) which gives us the strength to carry on every day! Yes, all of these things were given willingly and without expectation of payment from us, which is the definition of a gift, is it not? And like with any gift, it behooves us to acknowledge our appreciation by saying a heartfelt thank you. Unless we are not thankful for all He has given us. Can that even be a remote possibility? God forbid!

___

“At that time Jesus declared, “I thank you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, that you have hidden these things from the wise and understanding and revealed them to little children..”

Matthew 11:25 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a comment