Thought For The Day 10/12/13

Standard

Oh “MercyMe”!

___

christian-music

___

Where painting is weakest, namely, in the expression of the highest moral and spiritual ideas, there music is sublimely strong.

Harriett Beecher Stowe

http://christian-quotes.ochristian.com/Music-Quotes/

___

The Millard family were firmly entrenched as members of the football family of the Southern Methodist University community. In fact, some might say that the family itself stood in the middle of a field adjacent to the school and the architect began drawing the stadium plans with the 50 yard line placed where their shadow fell on the earth! And Bart Millard would likely have followed in his family’s  footsteps, had not an injury during a high School football game sidelined his plans! So what’s a boy to do? He chooses choir as an elective! And as was His plan for Bart’s life, the rest is history.

___

Following the death of his father, Bart was asked to join the crew of a youth group worship band. But when the lead vocalist was unable to perform, Bart stepped in. Accompanied by Jim Bryson on the piano, the duo soon became a trio with the addition of guitarist Mike Scheuchzer, and MercyMe was born! The name was a gift from Bart’s grandmother who would exclaim to him, “Well mercy me, why don’t you get a real job?” The current members of this talented Christian Rock Band includes Bart Millard, Nathan Cochran, Michael John Scheuchzer, Robin Shaffer, James Bryson, Barry Graul.

___

Their accolades are almost too many to list. The have been feted with 8 Gospel Music Association Dove Awards for Song of the Year, Artist of the Year and Group of the Year; they won Favorite Contemporary Inspirational Artist at the 2004 and 2010 American Music Awards; and they won 10 Billboard Magazine Decade (2000-2009) Awards, including number 1 for “Word of God Speak”, released in 2004. And it is this song I am featuring today! “Word of God Speak” can be found on their album entitled Spoken For.

___

WORD OF GOD SPEAK

written by: Bart Millard and Peter C. Kipley

performed by: MercyMe

I’m finding myself at a loss for words
And the funny thing is it’s okay
The last thing I need is to be heard
But to hear what You would say

Word of God speak
Would You pour down like rain
Washing my eyes to see
Your majesty

To be still and know
That You’re in this place
Please let me stay and rest
In Your holiness
Word of God speak

I’m finding myself in the midst of You
Beyond the music, beyond the noise
All that I need is to be with You
And in the quiet hear Your voice

Word of God speak
Would You pour down like rain
Washing my eyes to see
Your majesty

To be still and know
That You’re in this place
Please let me stay and rest
In Your holiness
Word of God speak

Word of God speak
Would You pour down like rain
Washing my eyes to see
Your majesty

To be still and know
That You’re in this place
Please let me stay and rest
In Your holiness
Word of God speak

I’m finding myself at a loss for words
And the funny thing is it’s okay

___

To view the YouTube video of this song (with lyrics), performed by MercyMe, click the arrow in the embed screen.

___

“Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom; teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord..”

Colossians 3:16 KJV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

