Thought For The Day 10/15/13

Standard

As For Me And My House

___

as for me and my house

___

“Prayer in action is love, and love in action is service. Try to give unconditionally whatever a person needs in the moment. The point is to do something, however small, and show you care through your actions by giving your time … We are all God’s children so it is important to share His gifts. Do not worry about why problems exist in the world – just respond to people’s needs … We feel what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean, but that ocean would be less without that drop.“

Mother Teresa

http://www.whatchristianswanttoknow.com/20-amazing-quotes-about-serving/

___

I was thinking about a single phrase yesterday. You see, I was visiting a local tourist mecca with my niece who was here from Colorado for a visit, and I saw this phrase on a number of items on display in a store window. There were coasters, a kitchen trivet and a decorative piece of wall art. It is a phrase that is captured in the title of today’s thought. In fact, “As For Me And My House….We Will Serve The Lord” is merely a snippet from a few verses that I have shared in their entirety  below. But make no mistake. These 11 words combined, make up a phrase that nearly everyone either knows by heart, or at least recognizes on sight.

___

Now I reined in temptation (my very real cross to bear, it seems), and I placed my weakness in a safe place, right along side of my credit card! And why, you ask? Well, I need no reminder of this verse and how it came to be, hanging on my wall! You see, I carry this verse in my heart, as did Joshua, the visionary and author of these words (found in Joshua 24:15)!

___

History teaches us that it became Joshua’s duty to prepare the Israelites for entry into the land of Canaan. A shrewd and devout man, Joshua knew that it was necessary that his two families, (mate and offspring as well as his family from among the children of Israel) must live by faith in God instead of faith in the nation of Israel. To that end, he sought to share the importance of this by the example of his own exemplary behavior. It was this spiritual strength that made Joshua a man worthy of learning from and of following! Secure in his understanding of the will of God, he led his family and his people, into the land that was promised to them. Much like a minister or priest, Joshua was, in all ways, the spiritual leader of this new nation!

___

God asks no less from the rest of us. The issue becomes do we have to strength of faith to lead our own house to the promised land? No, our journey will not mirror that of Joshua. After all, times were indeed hard during Joshua’s years. And yet, life itself was far less complicated than the days we face in the here and now. Even the religions we embrace today have evolved, an added “gift” of the times. But despite everything, it matters less HOW it is that we practice our faith, and more THAT we are among the faithful! Do this, and we honor Joshua by living lives that are worthy of learning from and of following! Are you up to the task?

___

“Now, therefore, fear the LORD and serve Him in sincerity and truth; and put away the gods which your fathers served beyond the River and in Egypt, and serve the LORD. “If it is disagreeable in your sight to serve the LORD, choose for yourselves today whom you will serve: whether the gods which your fathers served which were beyond the River, or the gods of the Amorites in whose land you are living; but as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.” The people answered and said, “Far be it from us that we should forsake the LORD to serve other gods;….”

Joshua 24:14-16 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

