Thought For The Day 10/17/13

Standard

You Know You Make Me Wanna Shout!

___

shout for joy

___

In light of the greatness of our God, should there not be a little shouting when we get together to celebrate His greatness and declare His worth? Worship is not a time to mumble. It’s a time for joyful shouting-a time for joyful singing.

Jeff Syverson

http://pastorjeffsneighborhood.files.wordpress.com/2013/09/shout-for-joy.jpg

___

Does your faith make you happy? Does it make you want to shout to the heavens? Well, once upon a time,mine did not. I was not particularly charismatic. In fact, I was about as opposite to charismatic as it is humanly possible to be. Perhaps it was that I was raised in a rather staid branch of Christianity and as I would look at members of the more charismatic movements, I would think, “Why? They seem to be showing off! Is it really necessary to let everyone know what gifts from the Almighty you embrace?” But like a bolt of lightning from the sky seems to cut the very fabric of the heavens, so did the thunderbolt I felt in my heart! God set my feet on a path of change…..a path to Him…..and I haven’t looked back!

___

I began writing, I developed a social media page, and I began reaching out to others. And the more I allowed my heart to share the place that God had touched, the more my perspective shifted. You see, I discovered that as my response to God and His gift of grace changed and grew, so did the depth of my joy! Yes, I am happy. In fact I am happier than I have ever been before! But was this change an easy one? Nope!

___

Turning toward God is not something that can be done metaphorically. No, it is an absolute 360 degree shift in every part of your mind and your heart! God tells us that we must turn away from all temptations. Read Ezekiel 14:6 NIV. “Therefore say to the people of Israel, ‘This is what the Sovereign LORD says: Repent! Turn from your idols and renounce all your detestable practices!”

___

Now we may not think what we do in life is particularly bad or sinful. But that just speaks to the depth of our blindness to what it is that He asks of us. And what He asks isn’t really as hard as we sometimes paint it to be! Firstly, He wants us to acknowledge that we are not perfect and that we sin. Secondly, He wants us to accept the love and the forgiveness that He offers us. And lastly, He wants us to share His word with those who have not yet discovered the wonder of His love!

___

Will you falter along the way? Yep! Even the Son Himself asked of His Father something so very human, that it is hard to rationalize that the words actually left His lips! Luke 22:41-42 RSV shares this with us. “And he withdrew from them about a stone’s throw, and knelt down and prayed, “Father, if thou art willing, remove this cup from me; nevertheless not my will, but thine, be done.” And of course, we know all that happened after this singularly human moment of Christ’s last hours! And it is this that tells me what a blessing God’s gift was for me and for you. Yes, I want to shout out loud and proud, “THANK YOU GOD! Thank you for the gift of your Son”

___

Shout for joy to God, all the earth! Sing the glory of his name; make his praise glorious. Say to God, “How awesome are your deeds! So great is your power that your enemies cringe before you. All the earth bows down to you; they sing praise to you, they sing the praises of your name.”

Come and see what God has done, his awesome deeds for mankind! He turned the sea into dry land, they passed through the waters on foot— come, let us rejoice in him. He rules forever by his power,  his eyes watch the nations— let not the rebellious rise up against him.

Praise our God, all peoples, let the sound of his praise be heard; he has preserved our lives and kept our feet from slipping. For you, God, tested us; you refined us like silver. You brought us into prison and laid burdens on our backs. You let people ride over our heads; we went through fire and water, but you brought us to a place of abundance.

I will come to your temple with burnt offerings and fulfill my vows to you— vows my lips promised and my mouth spoke when I was in trouble. I will sacrifice fat animals to you and an offering of rams; I will offer bulls and goats.

Come and hear, all you who fear God; let me tell you what he has done for me. I cried out to him with my mouth; his praise was on my tongue. If I had cherished sin in my heart,  the Lord would not have listened; but God has surely listened and has heard my prayer. Praise be to God, who has not rejected my prayer or withheld his love from me!

Psalm 66 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

