Thought For The Day 10/25/13

Standard

Pure Gospel

___

elvis_presley

___

“Gospel music is the purest thing there is on this earth,”

Elvis Presley

http://ipost.christianpost.com/assignment/christian-celebrities-114/page2.htm

___

Elvis Presley is widely known as the “King of Rock & Roll”, but he was so much more. You see, his heart and his soul was pure Gospel! Elvis was a man of faith and he knew that the gift he had was his by the hand of God. He believed in the Bible and knew that all good things come from God. And while most of his hits were secular, his passion was traditional southern style hymns!

___

I don’t know how many people knew that Elvis also surrounded himself with Gospel singers. Not only were many of his backup singers gospel performers, but from 1956 to 1970, the gospel group The Jordanaires, performed at his side as he toured. In fact it was their sound that was his favorite music to relax and unwind by.

___

Did you know that despite releasing in the neighborhood of 711 songs during his career, there were perhaps another 250 that never made it to the attention of the general public? And of that huge number released, did you know he received only 3 Grammy Awards, and all 3 were for Gospel recordings? Those winners and the years they were feted are as follows:

 “How Great Thou Art” (1967) album.
“He Touched Me” (1972) album.
Live Memphis Concert recording of “How Great Thou Art” (1974).

And it is widely accepted that it was this last recording of “How Great Thou Art” that was his finest recording of all time! However, my very favorite gospel song performed by Elvis was his version of the beautiful hymn “Take My Hand Precious Lord”, released in 1957 as part of his “Elvis’ Christmas Album”. This is an inspirational song filled with tender mercies and grace. The melody was taken from an 1844 hymn entitled “Maitland”, written by George Nelson Allen and the lyrics were added later by the Rev. Thomas Dorsey.

___

Take My Hand Precious Lord

Precious Lord, take my hand
Lead me on,
Let me stand
I’m tired, I am weak I am worn
Through the storm, through the night
Lead me on to the light
Take my hand precious Lord, lead me home

When my way grows drear precious Lord linger near
When my life is almost gone
Hear my cry,
Hear my call
Hold my hand lest I fall
Take my hand precious Lord, lead me home 

When the darkness appears and the night draws near
And the day is past and gone
At the river I stand
Guide my feet,
Hold my hand
Take my hand precious Lord, lead me home 

Precious Lord, take my hand
Lead me on,
Let me stand
I am tired, I am weak, I am worn
Through the storm, through the night
Lead me on to the light
Take my hand precious Lord, lead me home

___

To view the YouTube video of “Take My Hand Precious Lord”, click the arrow on the screen below.

___

“Praise the Lord with the harp; make music to him on the ten-stringed lyre. Sing to him a new song; play skillfully, and shout for joy.”

Psalm 33:2-3 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

 

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

