Thought For The Day 10/30/13

Standard

The Best Of Times

The Worst Of Times

___

the best of times

A Tale of Two Cities by Bob Barker

___

“It was the best of times, it was the worst of times; it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness; it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity; it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness; it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair; we had everything before us, we had nothing before us; we were all going directly to Heaven, we were all going the other way.”

Charles Dickens 

http://www.quoteworld.org/quotes/3649#ixzz2j4b4kREC

___

Yesterday’s post talked about the fracturing of relationships with those we once could not live without. And as part of this, I shared some thoughts about the things that are needed to not just preserve the interpersonal dynamic of intimate partnership, but I wanted to share why we need to succeed in this part of life. But as I read it right along with you, in the clear light of day, I realized that this post really was a way to point out how fractured and disjointed our lives…..all parts of our lives…..have become! It is no wonder that we so often travel down life’s road feeling bi-polar, as we realize that it really is “…the best of times” just as it is, at the very same time, “…the worst of times”.

___

Life is most certainly not a rose garden. Yes, we have our wondrous and wonderful days….the days when life is smooth sailing. Then, before we know it, some rough seas threaten to swamp us. And I, like many others, seem to need to face the heavens and then ask the ultimate question….“WHY?”. And what answer am I given?  God says, “Why not?” (And yes, when I am quiet and thoughtful, I often hear my answer just as absolutely as if God was standing in the same room, talking to me!) And it is then that I realize that this is the way God seeks to keep us humble and mindful that none of our lives are really ours to direct. Why else would God give the fragrance and silky feel of the rose its neighboring thorny stems?

___

Since the beginning of this year,we have been sailing pretty stormy seas. I have seen more hospital rooms than any person should have to see in a lifetime! Our lives have ridden the roller coaster of lows, such as finding out the pathology report signaled cancer once more, to highs, when we held each other and laughed as we watched the wonder of a tiny face discovering the taste of jello or the feel of pumpkin “innards”! And while the situations we faced may have been huge….both the good as well as the bad….it was how we handled them that mattered. You see, we did not allow the bad times to define our lives any more than we allowed the same of the good, because we knew that they all played a vital role in the plan God had for our lives! The problem is that too many people don’t trust in Him enough and it is these people who give up when the trials come. They give up thinking that they can not fix things, but the reality is that we seldom can anyway since our lives are for His purpose and glory and not our own! They forget the lesson in Romans 8:28 NIV,  “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

___

I was thinking about a phrase I had heard that is credited with a young performer. And as much as I adore Taylor Swift, this quote she is credited with really isn’t correct. She once said, “Life isn’t about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain”. I hold that this bit of “poetic license” on my part, makes far more sense. “Life is about surviving the storm and still being able to dance!” And this is exactly the way we who have faith should choose to live our lives, every single day! Trust me. It will do far more to calm those stormy seas than anything else we might try to force upon the life we live!

___

“However, I consider my life worth nothing to me; my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace.”

Acts 20:24 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

