Thought For The Day 11/04/13

Standard

Changing Every Day

___

changing-clothes-590x442

___

I’m starting with the man in the mirror
I’m asking him to change his ways
And no message could have been any clearer
If you want to make the world a better place
Take a look at yourself, and then make a change

Michael Jackson

Man In The Mirror

http://www.metrolyrics.com/man-in-the-mirror-lyrics-michael-jackson.html

___

We generally think nothing of the frequency with which we change our clothes. In fact, for most people, they routinely change their attire at least 2 to 3 times every day, depending on the day they will be having!

___

When we wake up, we generally remove our sleeping attire, wash our faces, brush our teeth, and we don the clothes we need to wear for the work or activity we will be engaged in. Often, our dress will vary from what our friends and even others in our family might wear.  For example, my husband wore a uniform to work. I wore business attire once upon a time. A farmer might wear clean dungarees and a lawyer a suit. Then at the end of our work day, we might unwind and done some casual sweats until the time comes to bathe, and prepare for our night’s rest by putting on sleep wear!

___

We change over and over with seldom a thought as to what it is we are doing. In fact, for most, it is as automatic and routine as is the singular act of eating. And yet, think for a moment about why this has become our habit. I don’t know about you, but the thought of walking around with a billion of the skin cells or drops of perspiration I have shed during the course of my day on the clothes I am wearing makes my head spin! Yes, I don’t have to, but I do not want to offend anyone by choosing to wear something that is soiled!  And while I bet you have never had your laundry associated with your sin, it is exactly this same reason why we must make a conscious choice to change our hearts and our minds, and embrace the gift that we have been offered by the sacrifice made by Christ. Yes, it was His shed blood that has washed us clean, just as absolutely as our washing machine does the same for our clothes.

___

The entirety of this promise is explained in Hebrews 10:5-14 NIV, “Therefore, when Christ came into the world, he said: “Sacrifice and offering you did not desire, but a body you prepared for me with burnt offerings and sin offerings you were not pleased. Then I said, ‘Here I am—it is written about me in the scroll— I have come to do your will, my God.’” First he said, “Sacrifices and offerings, burnt offerings and sin offerings you did not desire, nor were you pleased with them”—though they were offered in accordance with the law. Then he said, “Here I am, I have come to do your will.” He sets aside the first to establish the second. And by that will, we have been made holy through the sacrifice of the body of Jesus Christ once for all. Day after day every priest stands and performs his religious duties; again and again he offers the same sacrifices, which can never take away sins. But when this priest had offered for all time one sacrifice for sins, he sat down at the right hand of God, and since that time he waits for his enemies to be made his footstool. For by one sacrifice he has made perfect forever those who are being made holy.”

___

Being reminded of this gift is not enough. You see, it is not a gift we can earn, nor do we automatically deserve it simply by virtue of the fact that we live and breathe. Yes, it is a gift offered to all, but it is a gift that becomes ours only when we choose to receive it. We must repent and confess our sins and accept that His sacrifice is our salvation. It is then that we are raised and born anew! Need further proof? Just read Hebrews 10:19-25 NIV, “Therefore, brothers and sisters, since we have confidence to enter the Most Holy Place by the blood of Jesus, by a new and living way opened for us through the curtain, that is, his body, and since we have a great priest over the house of God, let us draw near to God with a sincere heart and with the full assurance that faith brings, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and having our bodies washed with pure water. Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess,for he who promised is faithful. And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.

___

So why not take the same care with your soul as you do with your attire! Seek out and embrace the gift of the promise of eternal life. It is as easy as simply reading, and meaning these words from Romans 10:9-10 NIV, “If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you profess your faith and are saved.” Then, and only then, will we not only make the change, but we will allow the change to remake us!

___

“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

Galatians 2:20 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

