Thought For The Day 11/05/13

Standard

30 Days Of Gratitude

___

30-Day-Gratitude-Challenge

___

It is hard to believe that a year has passed since the launch of the “30 Days of Thankfulness” (AKA the “30 Days of Gratitude”) that became a Social Media phenomenon in November, 2012. And in all that time, I have to wonder how many of those who actually completed the 30 day promise to take this opportunity of publicly confessing the blessings in their life, continued past the time they promised in the “contract” they made! I am certain that number is far less than Anastacia, the professional coach,  writer, community builder, and the founder of the myriad “30-Day Projects”, who conceived this concept, had hoped for. And yet, for those (including my daughter) who embraced this opportunity, it is not just overwhelming, but humbling, as well, to read their posts on the various sites I participate in. And read them I do. On Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, to name but a few. Because to read them gives me hope for the future of mankind!

___

Now you might think that it was FAITH whose labor pains pushed this idea out and into the world, but it was not. It was, instead, LOVE that delivered this concept at public verbalizing our gratitude. Admit it…..when we think of our blessings, is it not the love of our Maker, or the love of our families and friends, that springs to mind first and foremost? In fact, that was Anastacia’s intent in the first place, when she envisioned her “30 Day Projects. To quote her, it was “Love for self, love for others, loving freely and deeply and the magic that comes from that”, which were the egg and the sperm…the products of conception…for this dream! And yet, remember that it was not even she, that introduced to the world, the very name of that which is man’s greatest blessing. LOVE!

___

If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast,but do not have love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

1 Corinthians 13:1-13 NIV

___

Yes, we use this time of the year to make our lives better, and I think that is because this is the time when man is naturally wrapped up in the joy of the days soon to come, when we celebrate the anniversary of the arrival of a tiny baby boy. And yet, despite this lightening of the hearts of man, gratitude remains something that must be taught and nurtured. I am reminded of this every time I have to remind my grandson of those “magic words”, THANK YOU!

___

Saying THANK YOU is not instinctive for man. Nevertheless, it is essential to our joy in living, that we not just remember being grateful, but that we express it every opportunity we can. And it is for giving us a platform for expressing our love in this way, I must say today, that I am thankful the God gave the world Anastacia and her wonderful 30 Day Project for expressing our Gratitude!

___

“A Psalm for giving thanks. Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the earth! Serve the Lord with gladness! Come into his presence with singing! Know that the Lord, he is God! It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture. Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise! Give thanks to him; bless his name! For the Lord is good; his steadfast love endures forever, and his faithfulness to all generations.”

Psalm 100:1-5 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

