Thought For The Day 11/12/13

Standard

My First – My Last – My Everything

___

Stylized carving at entrance to Antoni Gaudi’s Sagrada Família in Barcelona

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:AlphaOmega.jpg

___

People pay for what they do, and still more, for what they have allowed themselves to become. And they pay for it simply: by the lives they lead.

Edith Wharton

http://www.quotegarden.com/karma.html

___

“You’re my first, my last, my everything…”! Yes, these are the words to a song made famous by the incomparable Barry White nearly 40 years ago (written by White, Tony Sepe and Peter Radcliffe). And I’m sure you all will agree that the words are a magnificent testimony to love. But take a moment and think about the message contained within these lyrics. In fact, just substitute the word “God” for “Girl” in the line that contains the added words, “…you’re my reality…”, and it pretty well sums up all of the emotions that are possible for one whose heart loves the Lord, don’t you think?

___

Yes, the Α and Ω (the Alpha and Omega), the beginning and the ending, the first and the last. All things that so perfectly describe what many of faith believe. God has existed for all eternity and will continue to do so eternally! We sing it as part of the Doxology in nearly every Christian liturgy that I can think of. And while the words may vary ever so slightly depending on whether your church is Orthodox or Anglican or Roman, the intent of the words remains identical…..the Alpha and the Omega. As it was in the beginning, is now and ever shall be…..

___

Revelation 1:8 says it:   “I am the Alpha and the Omega,” says the Lord God, “who is, and who was, and who is to come, the Almighty.”

So does Revelation 21:6:  He said to me: “It is done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. To the thirsty I will give water without cost from the spring of the water of life.

So does Revelation 22:13:  I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End.

___

The book of Revelation is traditionally thought to have been written by John and though we can not state with certainty which John, we believe it to be John the Apostle, since it is thought that it was the Apostles who were given the authority to write God’s inspired word. But interestingly, it is in this final book of the New Testament, where we are given a glimpse of God’s vision for all of mankind, that the  Α and Ω (the Alpha and Omega) are given their meaning as more than simple letters of the Greek alphabet. It is a book that has divided denominations and even families as it seeks to share God’s global plan for mankind.

___

It is through this prophesy, we are shown his plan in a way that ties the past to the future. Once again, the Α and Ω (the Alpha and the Omega). And yet, despite the dire predictions contained, there is also a promise to those who believe with all of their hearts, that they will find a place forever in His home on high! Do these predictions frighten me? Well, my answer really must be both yes and no! You see there are also two parts, an Α and Ω (Alpha and an Omega), if you will, to each human being. We each have our mortal (Alpha) bodies but we are also gifted with an immortal (Omega) soul. Which is why I can say with certainty, that while I may fear the passing of my mortal being one day, not for a single minute do I fear the destination where my immortal soul will pass to!

___

My First, My Last, My Everything

Barry White

My first, my last, my everything, 
And the answer to all my dreams. 
You’re my sun, my moon, my guiding star. 
My kind of wonderful, that’s what you are. 

I know there’s only, only one like you 
There’s no way they could have made two. 
You’re, you’re all I’m living for 
Your love I’ll keep for evermore. 
You’re the first, my last, my everything. 

In you I’ve found so many things, 
A love so new, only you could bring. 
Can’t you see if you, 
You’ll make me feel this way, 
You’re like a first morning dew on a brand new day. 

I see so many ways that I can love you, 
‘Till the day I die…. 
You’re my reality, yet I’m lost in a dream. 
You’re my first, my last, my everything. 

I know there’s only one, only one like you 
There’s no way they could have made two. 
Girl, you’re my reality. 
But I’m lost in a dream, 
You’re the first, you’re the last, my everything.

___

Click to view the YouTube video with lyrics

___

The Doxology

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit, Both now and always, and unto the ages of ages. Amen.

Δόξα Πατρὶ καὶ Υἱῷ καὶ Ἁγίῳ Πνεύματι, καὶ νῦν καὶ ἀεὶ καὶ εἰς τοὺς αἰῶνας τῶν αἰώνων. Ἀμήν.

___

Mommy

Happy Birthday to my mom, Elaine Stafford Pierce.

She may be gone from my life, but never my heart and I will see her again!

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

